Streaming Video
- Asian Film OnlineAsian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- ProjectrProjectr partners with educational institutions and public libraries throughout North America to present a curated and ever-expanding collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, award-winning documentaries and artist-made works from around the world.
- Ethnographic Video Online"Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video"
Use the Library Catalog for searching across all streaming and DVD films
International Newspaper Databases
- Access World NewsAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
- Global NewsstreamSearch the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia
Images and Primary Sources
- South East Asian images & texts project : SEAiTA digital archive of historical photography for Southeast Asia, drawing scattered historical photographs of Southeast Asia into a single accessible source and a standard digital format. The archive incorporates elements from a broad spectrum of social sciences, including history, geography, anthropology and political science.
- Southeast Asia VisionsA collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection.
- Gale Primary Sources.Titles of the searchable, mainly textual, sources that are available in this database are listed in the catalog record.
- Jyoti Bhatt Archive (part of the Asia Art Archive)https://aaa.org.hk/en/collections/search/archive/jyoti-bhatt-archive
- FlickrA rich database of billions of photos. Use advanced search to limit by date photo taken or posted.
Maps
Located on the lower level of Olin Library, the Cornell University Library Map Collection houses a geographically comprehensive collection of over 300,000 paper maps, 1,000 books and atlases, and many other related research materials.
Use the Library Catalog for searching for maps in the Olin Map Collection. Limit to maps on the left.
Other Map Collections
Your Librarian
mm342@cornell.edu
Land Acknowledgement
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.