HIST 1200: Modern Masculinities (Fall 2024)

Covers topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance).

5 volumes. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2016.
"The goal we set for the Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies was to reflect the wide range of topics, debates, and approaches to this exciting interdisciplinary, and increasingly, global field, while yet being forced to work with the unequal power relations that have historically marked the relations between "the West" and "the rest." While the 719 entries included in this encyclopedia may not be able to cover the entire field of gender and sexuality studies as it continues to develop in virtually all parts of the world, we hope we have captured both its complexity and its international scope." [Introduction]

4 volumes. New York: Continuum, 1997-2002.
An extensive source of information on comparative issues in sexuality. The country-by-country entries cover standard topics including "Homoerotic, Homosexual, and Ambisexual Behaviors" and "Cross-Gendered Persons" (sometimes entitled "Gender-Conflicted Persons").

3 volumes. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2015.
"A comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems." [About this Book]

New York: Garland, 2000.
Volume 2 of The Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures. Like the companion volume, an exceptionally useful and thorough review of the topic. Biographical entries included.

Chicago: glbtq, Inc., 2003-2015.
An extensive collection of signed articles on the arts and literature. Biographical and topical entries. Articles include bibliographies.

3 volumes. New York: Scribner, 2004.
An up-to-date encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history. "[T]he entries... offer a bracing, engaging, provocative tour of U.S. history and culture from multiple, overlapping, sometimes conflicting, but always informative perspectives." [Historical Introduction].

San Francisco: Cleis Press, 2005.
Entries represent "glbtq individuals not only as actors, directors, screenwriters, television performers, and producers, but also as subjects, objects, and consumers of the popular arts." [Introduction] Includes bibliographies.

San Francisco: Cleis Press, 2004.

San Francisco: Cleis Press, 2004.

Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2016.
Focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist, and ecological perspectives on the topic in 400 signed entries from fields such as: Psychology, Human Development, Gender/Queer Studies, Sexuality Studies, Social Work, and Sociology.

This collection brings together cutting-edge work by established and emerging scholars focusing on key societies in the East Asian region: China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Japan, North and South Korea, Mongolia and Vietnam.

Detroit: St. James, 1998.
"[P]rovides a broad, multifaceted overview of lesbian and gay history, culture, and communities in the United States." [Foreword] Extensive bibliography.

2 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2005.
This encyclopedia "queers the singular understanding of sexuality as heterosexual by detailing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBTQ) sexualities as it relates to youth and education." [Preface] The 242 topical, signed entries are of medium length and include bibliographies of web sites, court cases, books, and articles for further research and information. Volume 2 includes a general bibliography of print and electronic resources and a detailed index.

A comprehensive commentary on the state of the field, simultaneously assessing where Asian American studies came from and what the future holds.In this volume, thirty leading scholars offer original essays on a wide range of topics.