Recommended Databases for Articles
Anthropology and related Social Science articles
- AnthropologyPlusAs a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.
- AnthroSourceCurrent issues of Association journals and bulletins, plus searchable archived issues of all the Association's publications, <1888-2003>. Covers political, medical, cultural, and legal anthropology; ethnology; education; humanism; archaeology; nutrition; gender issues; and linguistics.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.
Environmental studies
- Environment IndexFormerly known as Environmental issues & policy index, Environmental Policy Index, and Environmental Knowledgebase Online. The Environment Index provides researchers with abstracts and indexing for over 1,000 titles covering environmental policy and studies. Updated monthly, with ongoing coverage for over 500 of those titles, the database contains citations for articles published since 1973. The database offers deep coverage of applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Additionally, an Environment Thesaurus and publication index are available for more precise, advanced searching.
- Wildlife & Ecology studies WorldwideIndex to scientific and management literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations and other publications. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, and taxonomy.
- Web of ScienceChoosing "All Databases" allows you to search an index of journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
--------------------------------------------------------
Popular press (newspapers, magazines, popular books, blogs, activist communications)
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.
- Global NewsstreamSearch the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
- New York Times/nytimes.comThe Student Assembly has purchased access for all Cornell undergraduates only. Sign up for access.
New York Times articles can also be accessed online by all Cornell students, faculty and staff via the U.S. Major Dailies database provided by the library.
Books in the Library Catalog
Basic Search:
- From the library homepage, enter some key words, or a title, and select "catalog" from the drop-down menu.
- Alternatively, to start your search in the catalog, leave the search window empty and select catalog from the drop-down menu and click search.
Streaming Video
- The Docuseek2: Complete CollectionDocuseek2 launched in 2012 as a joint project of Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films, two leaders in independent, social issue and educational film distribution. The Docuseek2 Complete Collection provides exclusive educational streaming access to important films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films.
- NFB=ONF (National Film Board of Canada)Licensed access to the National Film Board's online streamed videos and additional titles in the CAMPUS collection. Included are documentaries, animation, experimental films, and alternative dramas.
More Databases
Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles
Search individual databases targeted to your subject topic or area of the world. Databases are browsable by title and by subject area.
Policy Papers
- Policy CommonsThe world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers on disciplines including agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, etc. Community tools allow users to upload, share, and discuss their discoveries.
Land Acknowledgement
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.