Course Syllabus
What is Afrofuturism? Is it a cultural aesthetic identified by its merging of African diasporic cultures and futuristic high-tech setting? Is it a philosophy created and explored by African diasporic subjects thinking through and imagining freedom and liberation? Can it be all of the above? In this course, we will address these questions and so many more. By engaging with cultural texts, such as short fiction, poetry, visual art, comics, film, and some music, we will begin to think through how Afrofuturism, and the Black imagination which drives it, seeks out possibility, freedom, and liberation in spite of our current anti-black reality.
ENGL 1183 Recommended Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are great for choosing a topic; educating yourself quickly; perspective on a topic; variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology; and bibliography.
Science Fiction and Futurism by ISBN: 9780786498567Publication Date: 2017-03-14Science and science fiction have become inseparable--with common stories, interconnected thought experiments, and shared language. This reference book lays out that relationship and its all-but-magical terms and ideas. Those who think seriously about the future are changing the world, reshaping how we speak and how we think. This book fully covers the terms that collected, clarified and crystallized the futurists' ideas, sometimes showing them off, sometimes slowing them down, and sometimes propelling them to fame and making them the common currency of our culture. The many entries in this encyclopedic work offer a guided tour of the vast territories occupied by science fiction and futurism. In his Foreword, David Brin says, "Provocative and enticing? Filled with 'huh!' moments and leads to great stories? That describes this volume."
Internet Horror, Science Fiction and Fantasy Television Series, 1998-2013 by ISBN: 9780786479931Publication Date: 2014-05-19This is the first ever compilation on Internet television and provides details of 405 programs from 1998 to 2013. Each entry contains the storyline, descriptive episode listings, cast and crew lists, the official website and comments. An index of personnel and programs concludes the book. From Barry the Demon Hunter to Time Traveling Lesbian to Hamilton Carver, Zombie P.I., it is a previously undocumented entertainment medium that is just now coming into focus. Forty-eight photos accompany the text.
Reference Guide to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by ISBN: 1563085488Publication Date: 2002-12-30This revision of Burgess's critically acclaimed guide to reference works in the fascinating genres of science fiction, fantasy, and horror thoroughly maps the territory of reference works, covering all major (and some minor) information sources published in the field starting in the 1950s and well into 2001. Annotations are lengthy, detailed, and evaluative, often comparing works to other similar titles. Approximately 160 of the 700 annotations are new to this edition; 50-100 others have been extensively revised. Fan publications, serials, periodicals with reference value and nongenre materials of interest to science fiction researchers are reviewed in addition to such standard tools as bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, and indexes. Major online resources and printed guides to the Internet have been added on a selective basis. The book also features core collection lists for academic, public, and personal research libraries. Aimed at librarians in academic and large public libraries.
Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: DT3 .E53 2010ISBN: 9780195337709Publication Date: 2010-02-17The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearlytwo-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship.Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groupsfrom various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism. The Encyclopedia of Africa is sure to become the essential resource in the field.
ENGL 1183 Recommended Online Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Race and RacismExamines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
- Handbook of African American Literature"An A to Z compilation of 415 literary terms, ages, movements, periods, and cultural sources, all cross-referenced....Definitions provide substantive discussion and cite specific examples from the works of major critics and major and minor writers from the 1700s to the present... Eight full-length essays, which serve as introductions to important aspects of literary theory and criticism, cover major terms... In addition to discussions of the Harlem Renaissance and the Black Arts Movement, the book describes the Chicago Renaissance of the 1930s to 1950s, the New Renaissance of the 1950s, and the new black aesthetics of the 1980s..[also includes]a literary timeline, divided into sections for African, African American, and Anglophone Caribbean literature that illustrates what was written during the same years in different parts of the world. The book also lists awards and honors given to African American authors." (publisher)
- Oxford Bibliographies-African American StudiesOffers regularly updated bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies -- culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
- Oxford African American Studies CenterComprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.