Lexikon of the Hispanic World
Lexikon of the Hispanic Baroque by Publication Date: 2013Over the course of some two centuries following the conquests and consolidations of Spanish rule in the Americas during the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries--the period designated as the Baroque--new cultural forms sprang from the cross-fertilization of Spanish, Amerindian, and African traditions. This dynamism of motion, relocation, and mutation changed things not only in Spanish America, but also in Spain, creating a transatlantic Hispanic world with new understandings of personhood, place, foodstuffs, music, animals, ownership, money and objects of value, beauty, human nature, divinity and the sacred, cultural proclivities--a whole lexikon of things in motion, variation, and relation to one another. Featuring the most creative thinking by the foremost scholars across a number of disciplines, the Lexikon of the Hispanic Baroque is a uniquely wide-ranging and sustained exploration of the profound cultural transfers and transformations that define the transatlantic Spanish world in the Baroque era. Pairs of authors--one treating the peninsular Spanish kingdoms, the other those of the Americas--provocatively investigate over forty key concepts, ranging from material objects to metaphysical notions. Illuminating difference as much as complementarity, departure as much as continuity, the book captures a dynamic universe of meanings in the various midst of its own re-creations. The Lexikon of the Hispanic Baroque joins leading work in a number of intersecting fields and will fire new research--it is the indispensible starting point for all serious scholars of the early modern Spanish world. Each entry accompanied by excellent bibliography of secondary and primary sources.
OBO
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic WorldOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period.
Cambridge Histories Online
Excellent resource. Full text. Chapters as pdfs. Extremely high quality essays with rich footnotes and bibliography.
Encyclopedias
- Literature of travel and exploration: an encyclopedia. Jennifer Speake, editor. New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003. Three volumes. (Olin Library Reference G465 .L565 2003+)
- Encyclopedia of European Social History: From 1350 To 2000. 6 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. (Olin Reference HN 373 .E63 2001)
- The Oxford Companion to United States history. Oxford University Press, 2001. Also in print, (Olin Library Reference E174 .O94 2001 +).
- Dictionary of American history. A classic ten volume encyclopedia. (in print--Olin Library Reference E174 .D52x 2003 +).
- Encyclopedia of American foreign policy. Thomson/Gale, 2002. 2nd ed. Also in print, (Olin Library Reference E183.7 .E52x 2002 +).
- Encyclopedia of American Religions. Detroit: Gale, 1987. (Olin Reference BL2530.058 M52+ 1987).
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. 5 vols. New York: Macmillan Library Reference, 1996. (Olin and Africana Reference E 185 E54 1996).
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. (Olin Library Reference E169.1 .E624x 2001).
- Encyclopedia of American Social History. 3 vols. New York: Scribner's, 1992. (Olin Reference HN 57 .E56 1992).
- Encyclopedia of American Political History. 3 vols. New York: Scribner, 1984. (Uris and Olin Reference E 183 .E56).
- American Revolution Reference Library. Detroit: Gale, 2000.
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. 3 vols. New York: Scribner's, 2001. Olin Library Reference E169.1 .E626x 2001
Biography
- American National Biography [New York] : Oxford University Press, c2000. Highly recommended. Excellent bibliography.
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography Highly recommended. Excellent bibliography.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. 21 vols. plus suppl. London: Oxford UP, 2004. The standard work for English biography. Highly recommended. Excellent bibliography.
Statistics
- International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-1993. 4th rev. ed. London: Macmillan Reference Ltd., 1998. (Olin Reference HA 1107 M5x 1998)
- International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania 1750-1993. 3rd rev. ed. London: Macmillan Reference Ltd., 1998. (Olin Reference HA4675 .M552x 1998)
- International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-1993. 4th ed. London: Macmillan Reference Ltd., 1998. (Olin Reference HA175 .M55x 1998)
- Historical statistics of the United States. Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006- Millennial ed.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. 2 vols. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1975. (Olin Reference and Olin Reference HA 202 A385+ 1976) Now online as pdfs: Volume 1 Volume 2
- Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington: Bureau of the Census, 1878- . Print volumes available in Olin. Latest volume in Reference. Also available in most other libraries. (HA 202) (Also available online through the Library Gateway's Databases) The standard annual summary of statistics, designed to serve as a convenient volume for statistical reference and is a guide to other statistical publications and sources.
