Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Classical Studies
The Oxford Classical DictionaryPublication Date: 5th editionAn unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics.Much more than a dictionary. Coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, sexuality, near eastern studies, and late antiquity.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO): ClassicsIn progress. Annotated sources.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research ReviewsThe complete texts of the Oxford handbooks in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion online.
The Roman Repbulic: A Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: 2012
- Oxford Very Short Introductions Online100 page introductions (with blbliography) of topics in Arts, Humanities, Medicine, Health, Sciences, Mathematics, Social sciences, and Law.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient HistoryPublication Date: 2013Covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Our board of experienced and internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
- Brill's New PaulyAn aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Entries offer easy, direct access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects - from all areas of Greek and Roman culture as well as their predecessors, neighbours and heirs.
- Oxford Art OnlineExcellent articles and images.
Cambridge Histories Online
Excellent resource. Full text. Chapters as pdfs. Extremely high quality essays with rich footnotes and bibliography.
Superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines:
Classics Citation Abbreviations
In Classics scholarship, titles of journals as well as Classical texts are often highly abbreviated.