ANTHR/ARKEO 4152 : Plantations: Cite sources/Help

Give credit where credit is due. By properly citing the sources you use in your research projects you are both identifying the resources that you used to complete your work and you are formally acknowledging the authors or creators of those resources. 

Please read the Cornell University Code of Academic Integrity.

Access Anywhere allows you to access electronic resources when you’re not on campus. After installing Access Anywhere, it will show up as a bookmark in your web browser. To use it, just go to any website you’re trying to access, click the Access Anywhere bookmarklet and it will “show” the website that you’re affiliated with Cornell.

To install: In your web browser (Firefox, Chrome, Edge, or Safari), make sure the bookmark toolbar is visible and then drag the above Access Anywhere icon to it.

Visit the Access Anywhere library guide for more installation information.

CMS: Purdue Online Writing Lab - Provides an overview and basic examples by format primarily focusing on the notes-bibliography system

MLA: Purdue Online Writing Lab -  Useful information regarding MLA citation style, includes examples

MLA Style Center Website - Contains brief overview of citation format, includes examples, citation elements template and helpful tips

APA: Purdue Online Writing Lab - Provides detailed descriptions and examples of citation style by format, figures/tables, footnotes and endnotes and sample papers

APA Blog - APA Published Blog is authored by a group of style experts to explain the answers to frequently asked questions or delve into citation minutia 

Zotero is a free, open source, web-based tool for managing citations, organizing pdfs, and creating bibliographies.

ZoteroBib is an easy to use quick citation generator if you don't need the full Zotero tool.

Ask your questions in person, by phone, by e-mail, text, IM or chat.

Reference Desk Directory

Olin Library Reference phone number: 255-4144

Olin & Uris Libraries Reference e-mail address: okuref@cornell.edu

Request a Research Consultation  This is a one-on-one meeting with a librarian to work through the research strategy and sources for a particular topic such as a thesis. Typically lasts at least one hour.