Background
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlinePeer reviewed annotated sources in a variety of disciplines. Several very excellent bibliographies of primary and secondary sources on Colonial Jamaica and Jamaica in the Atlantic World.
More information and possibilities for specialized encyclopedias
Primary & Secondary Sources Published as Books
Library catalog searches that can be modified to suit your particular focus and needs:
Secondary sources on Jamaica history
Primary historical sources relating to Jamaica published as books
Lots more information about how to search the library catalog and requesting items, etc.
Secondary Scholarly Journal Articles
- Historical AbstractsArticles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450. Very strong on Latin America and the Caribbean.
Lots more information about how to searching databases and accessing articles and requesting scans, etc.
Selected Digital Primary Source Collections
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876,A major full-text database, is also searchable separately or as part of America's Historical Newspapers.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean
"Types of collections include but are not limited to: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts." - Jamaica manuscripts collection, 1774-1950The Jamaica Manuscripts Collection contains 20 documents, most of which concern Jamaica in a variety of ways (others are regarding the British West Indies at large). Included, among other things, are correspondence, journals, official documents such as power of attorney documents and affidavits, plantation records, notes on the climate of Jamaica, and Spanish reports on English possessions.
- Gale Primary SourcesEnormous collection of primary sources including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Slavery & Anti-Slavery, The Making of the Modern World, Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories, and more. Quite a bit of material on Jamaica.