Databases to find articles from periodicals
- AnthropologyPlusAs a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.
- Black Studies CenterBlack Studies Center combines invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, and Black literature index. This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
- Africa-wide NiPadAfrica-wide NiPAD is an index covering material on Africa from the 19th century to the present, including: African studies abstracts (1994- ), Africa Institute (1981- ), Southern African database (1961- ), School of Oriental and African Studies Library catalogue: Africa (1989- ), NAMLIT (19th century- ), Don Africana collection (16th century- ) Campbell collections of the University of Natal, Killie Campbell Africana Library (19th century- ), and many others.
- Articles and Full Text SearchAccessible from the Library Homepage
Large interdisciplinary databases. Best used when you have a more specific topic and nation that your are interested in.
More Databases
Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles
Search individual databases targeted to your subject topic or area of the world. Databases are browsable by title and by subject area.
Books in the Library Catalog
Basic Search:
- From the library homepage, enter some key words, or a title, and select "catalog" from the drop-down menu.
- Alternatively, to start your search in the catalog, leave the search window empty and select catalog from the drop-down menu and click search.
Background sources
- Oxford Bibliographies: African StudiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African history and culture. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Your Librarian
Maureen Morris
Contact:
106 Olin Library
mm342@cornell.edu
mm342@cornell.edu
Subjects: American Indian & Indigenous Studies, Anthropology
Land Acknowledgement
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.