Useful Tips
Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.
Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.
Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).
Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles & Full Text search).
Selected Article Databases
- America: History & LifeCovers the history of North America from 1450 C.E. to the present. Includes JStor journals.
- MLA International BibliographyCovers literature, folklore, film from all over the world.
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary database, a great starting point for research on all topics. Updated daily.
- Proquest Research LibraryMultidisciplinary database, a great starting point for research on all topics. Updated daily.
- Ethnic NewsWatchFull-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.
- Alt-Press WatchFull text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press for articles on contemporary society, including coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.
Coverage: 1970 - current - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaCovers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy from the 16th century to the present.
- Black Studies CenterIncludes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
- Chicano databaseCovers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
- Sociology Source UltimateCovers sociology and its sub-disciplines and related areas of the social sciences, including labor, crime, demography, economic sociology, immigration, ethnic, racial and gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, social history, theory, methodology, and more.
image
Yakima reservation boundary, ca. 1950s (from the Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest)