Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing in stacks
A large collection of books about film in Asia is located in call number section PN1993.5 to PN1995. They are on the oversize (main) level; as well as upstairs on the Mezzanine (regular size). Organized by geographic area and country.
Film in Contemporary Southeast Asia: cultural interpretation and social intervention by
The book analyses films from Burma, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia and the Philippines, across a broad range of productions - such as mainstream and independent features covering genres (for example comedy, patriotic, political, historical genres) alongside documentary, classic and diasporic films.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A755 F53 2012
Publication Date: 2012 Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge
Glimpses of Freedom: independent cinema in Southeast Asia by
Since the late 1990s, a vivid new sphere of cinematic practice in Southeast Asia has emerged and been identified as independent. The authors who speak in this volume--contemporary filmmakers, critics, curators, festival organizers- describe and analyze the emerging field of Southeast Asian cinema, which they know firsthand and have helped create and foster.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A785 G55 2012 +
Publication Date: 2012 ( Ithaca, NY : Southeast Asia Program, Cornell University)
Film in South East Asia, views from the region: essays on film in ten South East Asia-Pacific countries by
Older book but contains history of cinema in 8 SEA countries, with additional essay on filmmaker Norodom Sihanouk.
Call Number: PN1993.5.A755 F55 2001
Publication Date: 2001 (Manila, Philippines : SEAPAVAA in association with the Vietnam Film Institute and the National Screen and Sound Archive of Australia,)
Southeast Asia on Screen: rom independence to financial crisis (1945-1998) by
[This book] addresses the similar themes, histories, trends, technologies and sociopolitical events that have molded the art and industry of film in this region, identifying the unique characteristics that continue to shape cinema, spectatorship and Southeast Asian filmmaking in the present and the future. Bringing together scholars across the region, chapters explore the conditions that have given rise to today's burgeoning Southeast Asian cinemas as well as the gaps that manifest as temporal belatedness.
Publication Date: 2020 (Amsterdam : Amsterdam University Press)
Performance, Popular Culture, and Piety in Muslim Southeast Asia by
The Muslim-majority nations of Malaysia and Indonesia are known for their extraordinary arts and Islamic revival movements. This collection provides an extensive view of dance, music, television series, and film in rural, urban, and mass-mediated contexts and how pious Islamic discourses are encoded and embodied in these public cultural forms.
Publication Date: 2013 (New York, N.Y. : Palgrave Macmillan)
Men and Masculinities in Southeast Asia by
This book brings together extensive recent innovative research on the study of men and masculinities in Southeast Asia. Drawing on rich ethnographic fieldwork from Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, the Philippines, Singapore, Indonesia and Timor-Leste, this book fills a significant gap and demonstrates, overall, how gender, ethnicity, class, sexuality and nationality shape contemporary understandings of what it means to be a 'man' in contemporary Southeast Asia.
Call Number: HQ1088 .M4586 2012
Publication Date: 2012 (New York, NY : Routledge)
(Background Sources, cont.)
The Flaming Womb: Repositioning Women in Early Modern Southeast Asia by
The Princess of the Flaming Womb, the Javanese legend that introduces this pioneering study, symbolizes the many ambiguities attached to femaleness in Southeast Asian societies. Yet, despite these ambiguities, the relatively egalitarian nature of male-female relations in Southeast Asia is central to arguments claiming a coherent identity for the region.
Call Number: HQ1745.8 .A683 2006
Publication Date: 2006 ( Honolulu : University of Hawaiʻi Press)
Alluring Monsters: The Pontianak and Cinemas of Decolonization by
The pontianak, a terrifying female vampire ghost, is a powerful figure in Malay cultures, as loved and feared in Southeast Asia as Dracula is in the West. In traditional folklore, the pontianak is a woman who has died as a result of male violence or childbirth and whose return upsets the gender, political, and social norms of Malay society. Rosalind Galt begins her study in colonial Malay.. and follows the pontianak film from the 1950s to Singapore's independence in 1965 to the present where it has reemerged in Malaysia...
Call Number: PN1995.9.S8 G35 2021
Publication Date: 2021 (New York : Columbia University Press)
Genders and Sexualities in Indonesian Cinema by
This book examines how representations of gay, lesbian and transgender individuals and communities have developed in Indonesian cinema. The book first explores Indonesian engagement with waria (male-to-female transgender) identities and the emerging representation of gay and lesbian Indonesians during Suharto's New Order regime (1966-98), before going on to the reimagining of these positions following the fall of the New Order.
Call Number: PN1993.5.I84 M86 2013
Publication Date: 2013 ( New York : Routledge)
Film Stardom in South East Asia by
This book.... give insight into how stars contribute to the social and political contexts of life in Southeast Asia. The book discusses men and women film stars in Cambodia, Malaysia, Burma, Vietnam, Indonesia and the Philippines, with such chapters as "Fight Like a Girl: Jeeja Yanin as a Female Martial Arts Star " and "The Indonesian Sex Bomb: Female Sexuality in Cinema 1970''-90's'
Call Number: N1993.5.S644 F55 2022
Publication Date: 2022 (Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press,)
With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Women's Studies International
Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.
Call Number: HQ 1726 .A13
Publication Date: Seoul : Research Center for Asian Women, Sookmyung Women's University
Current issues in Kroch Library Asia reading room. Library has 1996 to present. Print only.
Journal of Asian Studies
Quarterly. Online coverage varies according to platform; JSTOR & ABI/Inform start with 1956. "Recognized as the leading publication in its field. It features articles on the history, arts, social sciences, and contemporary issues of East, South, and Southeast Asia, as well as a large book review section.":
Call Number: DS501 .F24 + (Print copies v.1, 1941 to current. Current unbound issues in Asia reading room, General Asia section).
Publication Date: (Ann Arbor, Mich., Association for Asian Studies)
Cinemaya: The Asian Film Magazine
Call Number: PN1993.5.A75 C571 +
Publication Date: 1988-2004
Continued by Osian's Cinemaya: the Asian Film Quarterly. Library has 2005 April/June and 2006 vol. 1
Newspapers and magazines from around the world, searchable by country. Usually current issues for last 90 days; some go earlier. Scroll down to search by category: For Men, For Women, LGBTQ, many more.
Thai Rainbow Archive
Digitised Thai Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Magazines and Periodicals (Click on image to see issues)