LibGuides: HIST 1200: The Idea of Entrepreneurship in Modern America (Fall 2022): Primary Sources

Newspapers

ProQuest historical newspapers
Major North American newspapers like The New York Times and The Washington Post from the 19th century until about 2010.
African American Newspapers Online
Use this guide to find newspapers by and about the African American communities in the US.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers and ProQuest Recent Newspapers
Ten major newspaper titles are linked from the ProQuest Digitized Newspapers home page.
Ten more U.S. titles are part of the Recent Newspapers US Stand-alone collection. These titles are only accessible by browsing the News & Newspapers databases list under change Databases in the ProQuest interface.
Five additional multi-title Regional Collections covering 41 newspapers are cataloged as ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Regional Collections.
Coverage for all titles starts from either 1/1/2008, 1/1/2009, 1/1/2010, 1/1/2011, or 1/1/2012 with a three-month embargo on full text.
More newspapers online
Links on this page include access to more recent coverage. You may want to set up a free personal account for individual titles for keeping up to date, but for research you'll want to use a database, like Factiva or Nexis Uni, that searches hundreds of newspapers at once.

Popular Magazines

Life Magazine Archive
Access to articles and images from Life Magazine Archive presents, the famed photojournalism magazine. Contains publications from 1936-2000.
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive
Full text online as of 1954.

Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers these areas: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.

Guide to resources for historical advertising

African American Oral History

HistoryMakers
Focused on American history, oral history and education in general and more specifically on African American history, education, music, law, the arts, science, technology, media, medicine, entertainment, fashion&beauty, business, the military, politics and sports, The History Makers is a combination archive, library, museum, stock footage collection, on-line educator and educational PBS/TV programming. Its topics include but are not limited to African American organizations and associations, slavery, reconstruction, the labor movement, the civil rights movement and black authors.

How to cite interviews in Chicago Manual of Style

Each video clip in HistoryMakers will include a citation at the bottom of the clip, but it is not in Chicago Manual of Style; the punctuation and elements will need to be slightly adjusted following these examples from The Chicago Manual of Style:

Footnote

Shortened footnote

Bibliography entry

Corporate History & US Government Sources

Guide to Corporate History

Guide to US Government Documents

Selected Digital Collections

The Sixties: primary documents and personal narratives 1960-1974.
Diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary on the arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women’s movement, etc.