Company News Resources
News articles can be a valuable source of company information, especially if you're researching a private company where little public information is available. You can use library databases to search for company news.
- Factiva1. Navigate to the search builder: hover over "Search" on the toolbar, then click "Search Builder."
2. Search for your company: click the arrow next to "all companies," then type in the name of your company.
3. (optional) Limit the date range: select a date range from the drop-down "date" menu (below the "Free Text Search" box)
4. Click the "Search" button. - ABI/Inform1. Navigate to the advanced search tool: click "Advanced Search" (above the search bar).
2. Search for your company: type in the name of your company in the "Company/organization" field (below "Publication date").
3. (optional) Limit the date range: select a date range from the drop-down "Publication date" menu.
4. Click the "search" button.
Industry Research Resources
- IBISWorldIBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for more than 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China and Canada. Reports include industry performance, outlook, major companies, supply chain, demand drivers, cost structure, barriers to entry, and key statistics.
- Frost & SullivanProvides in-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of emerging technologies in the areas of Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials, and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation.
- Fitch Solutions Country & Industry ResearchMore than 900 industry and country reports by Fitch Solutions are available via ProQuest. Search the Advanced Search screen with "Fitch Solutions" to limit results.
- Business Source CompleteThe scholarly business database offers a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business. This is a great database to get a company SWOT analysis and information from trade publications in addition to market reports, peer-reviewed journal articles, and industry profiles. To locate industry profiles, include "MarketLine Industry Profile" in your search.
Company SWOT Report Resources
Company profiles will often include a SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats) analysis, strategy, competition, and recent acquisitions. You can find company profiles from Business Source Complete and Mergent Online.
- Business Source Complete1. Enter the company name in the first search box
2. Enter SWOT in the second search box and select TX All Text from the corresponding dropdown menu.
3. Click SEARCH
4. Refine results, such as date, using the filters on the results screen.