How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Book Reviews
Bustan: The Middle East Book Review contains article-length review essays and traditional book reviews. Articles will deal with a host of topics related to the Middle East and Islamic Studies. Subjects include (but are not limited to) political science, economics, history, language, geography and cultural issues of the region. Articles review works in a multitude of languages; however, articles are exclusively written in English.
Essentials
-
Historical AbstractsScholarly articles, books reviews, and more (many full text) on history from 1450 C.E. to the present.
-
Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish LiteratureInformation about articles and books on Ottoman-Turkish Literature (not all in English).
-
Turkology Annual Online = The Turkologischer Anzeiger/Turkology Annual (TA)An international bibliography for Turkology and Ottoman Studies
-
Middle Eastern & Central Asian StudiesSubject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology.
-
Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
-
JSTORFull text of selected journals. Excludes 3-5 most recent years.
-
Project MUSEFull text of selected journals. Includes recent years.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalFull text.
What is Passkey?
Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)
In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites
The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey. You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it!
Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.
Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.