Medieval Studies Articles
-
MLA International BibliographyIndexes articles, chapters in books, and books on all aspects of literature. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate full text.
-
International Medieval Bibliography OnlineCovers all aspects of the European Middle Ages including literature, history, archaeology, etc. Indexes articles, chapters in books, books, etc. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate full text.
-
Hapi OnlineContains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.
-
Middle Eastern & Central Asian StudiesSubject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology.
-
Index IslamicusIndex to scholarship on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.
-
Bibliography of Asian StudiesCovers subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
-
FeminaeAn index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
-
JSTORFull text of selected scholarly journals. Excludes recent issues (3-5 years).
-
Project MUSEFull text of selected journals including most recent issues.
-
[Ebsco] Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
-
[Proquest] Research LibraryMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title). Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, take the title of the journal not the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
Database or the Web?
You may be accustomed to finding journal articles simply by searching the web.
You can do that and, if you do, I recommend installing Passkey, and searching scholar.google.com. When you are searching from an off-campus location, Passkey will give you access to articles in the journals the library buys (not just what happens to be freely available).
On the other hand, the library databases will lead you to articles that you won't necessarily find on the web. In databases, you can execute complex searches, follow subject headings (descriptor terms) and narrow your search results in a variety of ways.
Don't get lulled into the web search trap. There's so much more available to you through the library.