AMST 4318: American Dream?: Journalism, Politics, and Identity in U.S. Immigration Policy: Primary Sources

Formerly known as 19th Century Masterfile. Searchable index to a variety of 19th century Anglo-American periodical articles, documents and other primary and secondary sources published before 1930. Many links to full text. Aggregates indexes to books, periodicals, newspapers, government documents and patents into a single resource.

Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. Use the archive to view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world.

Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past--Archive of Americana, collections."

Ser.1, 1690-1876. This collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies. -- Ser. 2, 1758-1900. This collection focuses on the 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. -- Ser. 3, 1829-1922. This collection focuses on the 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including Civil War, Reconstruction, the Progressive Era and beyond. -- Ser. 4, 1756 - 1922. This collection includes 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. -- Ser. 5, 1777-1922. This collection presents 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states, including the North Star, the famous anti-slavery newspaper founded by Frederick Douglass. -- Ser. 6 includes more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, including titles of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city dailies. -- Ser. 7. includes many new titles of singular importance, including New Orleans' Times-Picayune, established in 1837 and one of the South's most prominent newspapers, and The Oregonian, founded in 1850 in Portland and still the state's largest daily. -- Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English. -- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, includes newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. -- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. --Texas Historical Newspapers Archive, 1836-1977.

American Periodicals includes two full text resources: American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries. Both contain digitized images of American special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles, from the 19th century through the dawn of the 20th century. Because the database contains digitized images of periodical pages, researchers can see all of the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.

Provides access to historical documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers.

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.

This searchable database brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.

Database of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Texts constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of over 12 million pages. Database searchable by subject, publication category, standing committee author, and other parameters.

Includes primary source documents from exhibits between 1840 to 1940. The collection includes photos, newspapers, periodicals, books, general histories, exhibition catalogs, official histories, commemorative accounts, exposition publications, visitors' guides, lectures, technical reports, and promotional publications.

Focused on American history, oral history, and more specifically on African American history, it's a combination archive, library, museum, stock footage collection, on-line educator and educational PBS/TV programming. Its topics include but are not limited to African American organizations and associations, slavery, reconstruction, the labor movement, the civil rights movement and black authors."