Atlases
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History by Call Number: Olin maps G1541.S1 L3 2019 and onlineISBN: 9781351186018Publication Date: 2018-09-03
Other categories
Images of maps in the GEOGRAPHY category of DATABASES
- David Rumsey Map CollectionThe David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 13,600 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, childrens and manuscript maps. The collection can be used to study history, genealogy and family history.
- Images from the Cornell University Library map collectionThis collection consists of digitally reproduced images of paper maps from the Cornell University Library's Map Collection. Included are maps from locations around the world, ranging in date from the nineteenth century to the present.
Note that some of David Rumsey's maps have individual catalog records in the CUL catalog, such as:
Bolivia or Upper Peru; Chili and the United Provinces of South America or La Plata, ca. 1831.
Olin Map Collection
At this time, you'll need to schedule a consultation to learn more about materials in the Olin Map Collection.
Catalog Search for Maps
Helpful Subject searches:
South America > Description and travel
Latin America > Historical geography > Maps.
You can limit the format to "Map" using the filters on the left side, but this will eliminate maps that appear in books, such as atlases.
History of Cartography
Harley, J. B., and David Woodward, eds. The History of Cartography. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. v. 2, bk. 3. Cartography in the traditional African, American, Arctic, Australian, and Pacific societies See especially, the chapter, “Mapmaking in the Central Andes”
Also available in print from the Library:
Cartography in the traditional African, American, Arctic, Australian, and Pacific societies by Call Number: Olin Oversize GA201 .H53x 1987 +ISBN: 0226316351Publication Date: 1987
Other (Digital) Sources for Maps
List of Map Resources
contact
Contact the map department:
E-mail: olinmaps@cornell.edu
Phone: (607) 255-7557