Building Your Case
You found a potential funder, so you are done with research right? Wrong. There are a few areas to research to build a strong case for funding. These grants are highly competitive so your case needs to demonstrate importance and impact.
First of all, look into previous recipients. This will help you to understand what the funding organization wants in candidates. A representative may comment for the news about why they selected that application or you may identify trends in who they select. Previous recipients may be listed on the company website, or you can search for newspaper articles for the announcements. Use the databases below for those searches.
- ABI/InformABI/Inform, an extensive international business and management database, contains articles appearing in professional publications, newspapers, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for trade publications and newspapers.
- FactivaFull-text online service for international news and business information. Click on 'Search' at the top to build your search. If you are searching for a company, find the 'Company' section of the search to specify your company.
Next, build your case. Dr. Evans may share details of the SOS Children's Villages and their success. Your case may benefit from data on poverty or research on the success of Aquaponics (for example: how much food will be produced on average?). These research questions cover a wide range of topics and will not be covered by every database below. Feel free to reach out to me for suggestions on where to find data or research!
- Web of ScienceThis is a great resource for scientific information for many disciplines - life sciences, engineering, chemistry, etc.
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.