General Searching and Newspapers
Cornell University Library provides access to research databases for general use and subject specific databases. These general resources don't have everything but think of these as a little bit on every subject. If you aren't sure where to start, start here!
As you get started, keep in mind that your first search may return 0 results or a million results. The key is to adjust your search - change your search term from 'PV module' to 'solar panel' or 'solar energy', change your date range to the most recent 5-10 years, select only scholarly, magazine, newspaper, or trade publications, etc. Find an article that covers your topic and use the keywords or subject terms from the database in your next search. Adapt your search based on your results.
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- FactivaFull-text online service for international news and business information. Covers over 28,000 sources in 23 languages in more than 150 countries. Some company and market research is included. Factiva includes full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
- Nexis UniProvides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
Engineering Databases
Are you looking for scholarly scientific information? Are the general resources above not providing you with the detail and context that you need?
The engineering-focused databases below provide you full text access to scholarly work in engineering.
- Engineering Village 2Web-based information service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Includes the Compendex database. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Coverage is 1969 to date.
- IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, and other sources. IEEE also offers career information for electrical engineers, computer sciences and related fields.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.