Online Encyclopedia & Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas.
Selected Searches:
Encyclopedias are great for, choosing a topic; educating yourself quickly; perspective on a topic; variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology; and bibliography.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
- Oxford African American Studies CenterComprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.
- Body PoliticsEncyclopedia.com provides free access to over 300,000 reference entries. This essay titled, "Body Politics," was written by Professor Emerita Carolyn Martin Shaw from UC Santa Cruz.
Recommended Print Subject Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Blacks in European History and CultureCall Number: Africana Library Reference D212.2.B53 E53 2009This is the only multi-volume encyclopedia devoted to illuminating the history, literature, and popular culture of blacks in Europe. The encyclopedia focuses on the countries of Britain, Spain, Portugal, France, Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, and Russia. There are individual entries for significant European political, literary, and cultural figures of Black descent from ancient times to the present.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and CultureCall Number: Africana Library Reference DT16.5 .E53 2008This encyclopedia includes the work of more than 300 scholars and presents more than 500 articles covering the historical, political, economic, and cultural connections between people of African descent and the rest of the world. Entries cover such diverse topics as: Afro-Fusion Dance, Art in the African Diaspora, Black Churches, the African experience in a variety of countries, Hip Hop Culture in the African Diaspora, and Spellman College.
Encyclopedia of AfricaCall Number: Africana Library Reference DT3 .E53 2010Organized in an A-Z format, the articles in this encyclopedia cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism.
