LibGuides: ASRC 3565 Black Ecoliterature: Background Research

Encyclopedias are great for, choosing a topic; educating yourself quickly; perspective on a topic; variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology; and bibliography.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes essays from:

•Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African & African American Experience
•Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
•Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
•Black Women in America, Second Edition
•African American National Biography
•Dictionary of African Biography
•The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought

Sage Knowledge
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.
Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.

Helpful Links:

Resources are being added, please be sure to return!