Online Encyclopedia & Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas.
Selected Searches:
Encyclopedias are great for, choosing a topic; educating yourself quickly; perspective on a topic; variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology; and bibliography.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
- Oxford African American Studies CenterComprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.
Subject Guides
Research Guides can provide you with locating resources for a topic.
Video:
Recommended Print Subject Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Black StudiesCall Number: Africana Library Reference E185 .E554 2005This sncyclopedia is the leading reference source for dynamic and innovative research on the Black experience. The concept for the encyclopedia was developed from the successful Journal of Black Studies and contains a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and CultureCall Number: Africana Library Reference DT16.5 .E53 2008This encyclopedia includes the work of more than 300 scholars and presents more than 500 articles covering the historical, political, economic, and cultural connections between people of African descent and the rest of the world. Entries cover such diverse topics as: Afro-Fusion Dance, Art in the African Diaspora, Black Churches, the African experience in a variety of countries, Hip Hop Culture in the African Diaspora, and Spellman College.
The Harvard Guide to African-American HistoryCall Number: Africana Library Reference 85 .H326x 2001This landmark guide covers research into every aspect of African-American life and work, offering a compendium of information and interpretation about almost 400 years of African-Americans' experiences as an ethnic group and as Americans. The first part of the Guide contains 12 essays on historical research aids, from traditional archival and reference materials to the Internet.- Contemporary Black biographyCall Number: Clarke Africana Library Reference DT18 .C76Each volume of Contemporary Black Biography contains at least 55 full-length biographies written in an easy-to-follow prose style, ranging from 2 to 4 pages each. Arranged alphabetically, entries are divided by subheads for quick scanning. Contemporary Black Biography is not limited to coverage of only notable Black Americans.
