How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title). Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, take the title of the journal not the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Classics Citation Abbreviations
In Classics scholarship, titles of journals as well as Classical texts are often highly abbreviated.
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
Recommended Specialized Databases
- Web of ScienceChoosing "All Databases" allows you to search an index of journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- AnthropologyPlusAs a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.
- APh: L'Annee PhilologiqueArticles and books about Antiquity.
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
- Proquest Research LibraryMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text articles. Many peer reviewed. If the article is not available, use Get it Cornell or Ask a Librarian to find it.
- JSTORFull text of selected scholarly journals. Excludes recent issues (3-5 years).
Articles & Full text
Search a number of databases at one time by going to the Articles & Full Text link on the library homepage, or go into individual databases for your searches.
Articles & Full Text searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print b
ooks and other physical items).
Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, this system doesn't search all library resources. For comprehensive, or focused searching, go to the Databases link to find subject-specific databases.