African American Newspapers For Cornell Users
- African-American newspapers, 1827-1998Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States--those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
- Black Studies Center NewspapersBlack Studies Center combines invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, and Black literature index. This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
- African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Accessible Archives)Abolitionist Newspapers indexed are:
• Freedom's Journal, 1827-1829
• The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), 1837-1841
• The North Star, 1847-1851
• The National Era, 1847-1860 (Washington, D.C.)
• Provincial Freeman, 1854-1857 (Chatam, Ontario)
• Frederick Douglass Paper, 1851-1855
• Christian Recorder, 1811-1887.
These newspapers are transcriptions of the original newspapers.
For listing of general American historical newspapers visit: American Historical Newspapers Online.