Use Your Public Library
New York Public Library, Queens Public Library, and Brooklyn Public Library have language-learning materials, such as the Pimsleur audio course for Punjabi, as well as other Punjabi-language books, cookbooks highlighting food from the Punjab region, Punjabi historical non-fiction, and more!
As a New York state resident or someone who attends college in New York state, you can sign up for public library card with NYPL, BPL, and QPL. See the Reading for Fun Guide for more details.
Language Learning Resources
- Learn Punjabi
Research Centre for Punjabi Language Technology at the Punjabi University at Patiala's online resources for learning Punjabi. - Shabdkosh English-Punjabi Dictionary
Also includes vocabulary lists, games, and teaching materials. - ਪੰਜਾਬੀ - Dr. Sandeep Singh Chohan
Resources and information from Dr. Sandeep Singh Chohan. - Wikibooks: Punjabi
Punjabi-language digital textbook by Wikimedia.
The following are language learning apps. They may require a paid-subscription.
- Pimsleur: Punjabi
You can pay for a subscription to Pimsleur, BUT your public library likely has access for FREE! - Pimsleur on Libby
Libby (also called Overdrive) is offered by many public libraries.
Punjabi History Online: Digital Archives
- South Asian American Digital Archive
Punjabi-language digitized archival materials including historical newspapers, pamphlets, and correspondence. - Pioneering Punjabis
Online digital archive that covers the history of the Punjabi diaspora in Northern California. Includes timelines, archival ephemera, films, and encyclopedic information. - ArtSTOR: Punjabi Art
Art and multimedia from Punjab and the Punjabi diaspora.
Digital Libraries with Punjabi-language Materials
- Panjab Digital Library
Community-run digital library that includes archival materials, books, articles, films and more. In browser reading. - Punjab Digital Library
Digital library from the Punjabi government. Less user-friendly than other resources, but contains English and Punjabi language materials, as well as diasporic content. - Internet Archive: Punjabi-language Materials
The Internet Archive has over 2,000 Punjabi-language digitized resources including films, audio files, books, and archival images. - Academy of the Punjab in North America
E-books in Gurmukhi, and Shahmukhi, as well as music and video materials. In-browser reading. - Discover Sikhism: Sikh Library
Literature and poetry in Gurmukhi, English, and Hindi.
Cornell, Yale, and Columbia Library Materials
Cornell Library:
Columbia Library:
Yale Library:
