LibGuides: Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship: Reference

Online Encyclopedia & Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas.

General/Basic Search

There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies

Encyclopedias are great for, choosing a topic; educating yourself quickly; perspective on a topic; variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology; and bibliography.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.

Sage Knowledge
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.