Skip to Main Content

HIST/SHUM Race, the Nation & American Outdoor Recreation: Archival Research

Note Taking

An important part of the research process is note taking. Keeping a record of what you have found is vital in this process. For suggestions on note taking visit: Cornell Note Taking. 

How to Search Archival Collections

When deciding what items to request, it can be helpful to review a collection’s finding aid, if one is available.

While finding aids can differ in their level of detail, most include the following basic elements:

  • Descriptive Summary: lists the collection’s title, the repository where the collection is held, the collection number or call number,  a brief description or abstract of the collection contents, creator of the materials, the size and extent of the collection, and language(s) represented in the collection.
  • Biographical Note: details the biographical information or organizational history relating to the collection.
  • Collection Description: provides a more detailed overview of the materials in the collection.
  • Information for Users: how collection should be cited and if applicable, details any restrictions placed on the access or use of collection materials.
  • Subjects: a list of terms, topics, names, etc., covered in the collection, and in the collection’s library catalog record linked to other records with the same term.
  • Container List: a box-by-box, folder-by-folder listing of the materials stored in the collection. The level of detail in this section may vary.

Take note of which boxes or items have the most relevant materials for you, and then request them by following the steps outlined above.