Useful tips
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell to jump into the Library Catalog to search for the journal by title (not the article title). Once you locate the journal in the Library Catalog (online or print), then determine if we have the volume/year you need
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, take the title of the journal not the title of the article, into the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Selected Articles Databases
- America: History and LifeAccess to citations and abstracts to journal articles and books about U.S. and Canadian history. Provides citations from 1954 to the present, with some links to the full text of journal articles.
Note: In the absence of a direct article link, use the library catalog to look up the journal titles and books in your search results.
Databases for searching broadly, across disciplines and source types:
- Academic Search PremierA general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 journals and includes full text from over 3,170 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).
- Proquest Research LibrarySearches thousands of general interest magazines and scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected newspapers, television and radio programs. We subscribe to most of the periodicals indexed. Many articles are available full-text from the article citation page. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).
- Reader's Guide RetrospectiveComprehensive index of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States 1890 through 1982.
- Articles & FullText searchFrom the library homepage.