Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Film Encyclopedias, Guides, and Dictionaries
- Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN1993.45 C75x 2001 +Publication Date: 2001"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Call Number: Online (click on title above); also Olin Reference PN 1993.45 I61 2000 (print copy)Publication Date: 2000Vol. I of this four-volume set lists and describes approximately 650 international and historical films. Descriptions include production information, a cast list, a plot summary, an essay of the film's place in film history, and a lengthy bibliography. Vols. II-IV focus on Directors/Filmmakers, Actors and Actresses, and Writers and Production Assistants.
Routledge Companion to Film HistoryPublication Date: Routledge 2010In two parts: 1) a set of eleven essays that approaches film history around themes such as the history of the moving image, film as art and popular culture, and cultural difference; and 2) a critical dictionary that explains concepts, summarizes debates in film studies, defines technical terms, and describes major periods and movements.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Films by Call Number: Olin Reference PN1995 R6857 2015 +Publication Date: ondon ; New York : Routledge, 2015Comprises 200 essays by leading film scholars analyzing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting films of all time. Arranged alphabetically, each entry explores why each film is significant for those who study film and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the film was produced.
Women Filmmakers & Their FilmsCall Number: Olin Reference PN 1998.2 W66x 1998+Publication Date: St. James Press, 1998Includes entries on nearly 200 women behind the camera: producers, directors, editors, writers, animators, art directors, and costume designers. Each entry consists of a biography, complete filmography, selected bibliography, and expository essay on the subject's work. Other entries discuss specific films in which women played a major role in creating. Provides a chronology as well as indexes by nationality, occupation, awards, and film title.
French language and French/francophone-centric sources
Note: Click on the titles below to link to the Cornell Library Catalog record for each item.
Directory of World Cinema: France. Bristol, UK ; Chicago : Intellect, 2013.
Bazin, André. French Cinema of the Occupation and Resistance New York, N.Y. : F. Ungar Pub. Co., c1981.
Bessy, Maurice. Histoire du cinéma français: encyclopédie des films. Paris : Pygmalion, c1986-1992. (7 volumes)
Capitaine, Jean-Louis. Les Affiches Du Cinéma Français. Paris: Seghers, 1988. (Film posters.)
Crisp, C. G. French Cinema: a Critical Filmography. Bloomington, Indiana: Indiana University Press, 2015. Catalog of French film. Library has v.1, covering 1929-1939.
Le Film français (1945-1958) : rôles, fonctions et identités d'une revue corporative Paris : Presses Sorbonne nouvelle, [2015]
Hollis-Touré, Isabel. From North Africa to France: Family migration in text and film [London] : Institute of Modern Languages Research, 2015.
Lherminier, Pierre. Annales Du Cinéma Français: Les Voies Du Silence, 1895-1929. Paris: Nouveau Monde éditions, 2012.
Oscherwitz, Dayna, and Mary Ellen Higgins. Historical Dictionary of French Cinema. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
Pallister, Janis L.French-Speaking Women Film Directors: a Guide. Madison, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1997.
Pallister, Janis L. Francophone Women Film Directors: a Guide Madison [N.J.] : Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, c2005.
Pallister, Janis L, and Ruth A. Hottell. Noteworthy Francophone Women Directors: a Sequel. Madison, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 2011.
Pallister, Janis L. French-Speaking Women Documentarians, a Guide. New York : P. Lang, 2005.
Pillard, Thomas. Le Film Noir Français: Face Aux Bouleversements De La France d'Après-Guerre: 1946-1960. [Nantes]: Joseph K., 2014.
Sellier, Genevie`ve. La Nouvelle Vague Paris : CNRS, c2005.
Serceau, Daniel. Symptômes Du Jeune Cinéma Français. Paris: Cerf, 2008.
Multi-disciplinary Refererence sources
- Oxford Reference Online
- Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
- Sage Reference Online
- A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
- This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.