Encyclopedias and Background Sources
Why use background or tertiary resources?
- Learn more information about a topic including terms, scholars, dates, and notable works.
- Bibliographies, further reading, and works cited sections can lead you to secondary sources.
- It's a quick overview of a theme, work, author, or other topic.
- AccessScienceDictionary and Encyclopedia on a wide variety of science topics.
Encyclopedia of Science Technology and EthicsInterdisciplinary encyclopedia about issues and topics concerning science and technology. Available online and in print.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral SciencesInterdisciplinary encyclopedia that is available online and in print.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and TechnologyEncyclopedia focused on the history and influence of science and technology on American culture. Available online and in print.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Medical and scientific technology topics such as: cloning, stem cell research and same-sex marriage. Available in print and online.
Encyclopedia of Gender and SocietyFocused "on basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics)."
Secondary Resources - Databases for Journal Articles
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database with journal articles from 1975 to present. - Communications Abstracts
Includes articles, books, papers, and reports. - GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. - JSTOR
Journal articles. Most items are older than five years. - Project Muse
Journal articles. Most items are recent publications (less than five years old). - Sociology Source Ultimate
Index that includes citations and full-text links to journal articles, books chapters, and conference proceedings. - Studies on women and gender abstracts onlineIndexes books and journal articles on the role gender plays in sociological issues, literary criticism, and historical studies.
Other Resources for Getting Background on Topics
- Lucy Parsons Labs
Collaborative community project interested in data rights and social justice. - Electronic Frontier Foundation
Non-profit interested in protecting digital privacy, and examining technology. - Algorithmic Justice League
Non-profit founded by Joy Buolamwini focused on advocating for equity and accountability regarding artificial intelligence and its uses. - MediaJustice
Non-profit interested in equitable access to technology, and media. - Data For Black Lives
Movement advocating for increase accountability, and equity through data science. - Color Coded
BIPOC-led space dedicated to co-learning, co-teaching, and co-ownership of technology.
Helpful Handouts and Links
- Bookmark PasskeyBookmark link that reloads a page with your Cornell credentials, when available.
- Scan RequestsRequest a scan of an article or chapter of book. This can be of items Cornell owns, or items that we do not own!
Library Catalog Searching - Subject Headings
- Technology: Subject Heading BrowseSee all the subject headings under the Technology umbrella, and offers some related terms.
- "Information technology > Social aspects"Searches the catalog for all materials that are catalogued with this subject heading.
- Electronic Surveillance: Subject Heading BrowseSee all the subject headings under the Electronic Surveillance umbrella.
- "Technology > Social aspects."Searches the catalog for all materials that are catalogued with this subject heading.
- "Big data > Social aspects"Searches the catalog for all materials that are catalogued with this subject heading.
- "Biomedical Technology."Searches the catalog for all materials that are catalogued with this subject heading.
Secondary Resources - Databases for News Articles
- ProQuest Digitized Newspapers
Cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. 2008 to recent (3 month embargo). - Nexis Uni
Includes newspapers, journals, company reports and SEC filings, government documents, and more.
Other Helpful Guides
Land Acknowledgement
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign Nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The Confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state, and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.
This land acknowledgment has been reviewed and approved by the traditional Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' leadership.
