Helpful handouts and links
- Bookmark PasskeyBookmark link that reloads a page with your Cornell credentials, when available.
- Scan RequestsRequest a scan of an article or chapter of book. This can be of items Cornell owns, or items that we do not own!
Land Acknowledgement
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign Nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The Confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state, and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.
This land acknowledgment has been reviewed and approved by the traditional Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' leadership.
Reference Librarian
Background Literature Resources
Why use background or tertiary resources?
- Learn important terms, notable scholars or works, and more information about a topic.
- Bibliographies, further reading, and works cited sections can lead you to secondary sources you can use in your research.
- It's a quick overview of a theme, work, author, or other topic, which can save you time!
- Gale Literature
A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works.
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryLiterary theory from 1900 to present. Available in print and online.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismIncludes overviews of literary theories, concepts, and methodologies. Available in print and online
Encyclopedia of IndiaCall Number: Oversize DS405 .E556 2005 +In-print, Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Circulating).
Library Catalog Searching - Subject Headings
- "South Asian literature": Subject Heading BrowseSee all the subject headings under the South Asian literature umbrella.
- "Indic fiction (English)": Subject heading browseSee all the subject headings under the "Indic fiction (English)" umbrella.
- "Indic fiction (English) > 21st century > History and criticism"Searches the catalog for all materials that are catalogued with this subject heading.
- "South Asian literature > 21st century > History and criticism"Searches the catalog for all materials that are catalogued with this subject heading.
Secondary Resources - Databases for Literature Research
- MLA International Bibliography
Citations, abstracts, and full text materials. Includes articles and books. Does not include book reviews. - Humanities International Index
Citations and abstracts for articles, books, reviews, and reference sources in the humanities. Many links to full text articles. - JSTOR
Journal articles. Most items are older than five years. - Project Muse
Journal articles. Most items are recent publications (less than five years old).
Sources on South Asia
- Digital South Asia LibraryGuide to web accessible sources for Reference, Images, Maps, Statistics, Indexes, Books & Journals, Bibliographies & Union Lists, and to SARAI (South Asia Resource Access on the Internet.)
- Asia Collections web site: South AsiaInformation about the South Asia collection, Research Tools, New Books, South Asia staff. South Asia covers Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka. Click on either the "South Asia" heading, or on a particular country.
Map sources
- Fiction in English on Life in South AsiaMap of the regions of India and books/authors writing about them.
- Political MapMaps of India web site
- Pre-Partition Map of IndiaMaps of India web site
- Maps from Imperial Gazetteer of IndiaOn Digital South Asia Library web site
- Baluchistan mapfrom Imperial Gazetteer of India (Digital South Asia web site)
