Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Research Resources
A public memory project that documents the experience of the Asian, Asian American, Pacific Islander community during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Calisphere: Asian Americans
Digital exhibit of materials related to Asian Americans. Includes photographs, letters, artwork, oral histories, films, advertisements, and more.
Chinese Historical Society of America
Nonprofit that includes a museum and community archive committed to preserving, and providing access to materials related to "the history of Chinese in America."
Nonprofit and community archive concerned with providing access to and preserving "oral histories from Japanese Americans who were incarcerated during World War II."
Digital archive with materials related to the history of San Francisco, includes materials about Asian American populations in SF.
Pioneering Punjabis (UC Davis)
Digital archive created by UC Davis committed to documenting and preserving the history of "South Asian immigrants from the Punjab region in north India to California since the turn of the twentieth century."
South Asian American Digital Archive
Community archive committed to providing digital access to and preserving materials related to South Asian Americans.
Southeast Asian Archive (UC Irvine)
"Collects, preserves, and makes accessible primary and secondary source materials documenting the history of the Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, and Vietnamese diaspora." Includes the Vietnamese-American oral history project.
University of Southern California: Digital Archives - Asian-American and Pacific Islander Studies
Materials related to Asian-American and Pacific Islander Studies in the USC digital archives, includes an especially strong collection of materials related to Korean-American studies.
Welga Digital Archive- Bulosan Center for Filipino Studies
"Focuses on preserving and presenting the broad aspects of the Filipino American experience."
U.S. Worker Centers Web Archive
Cornell digital collection of worker centers in the US from 1990 to present.
Library Catalog Searching - Subject Headings
Secondary Resources - Databases for Literature Research
Sociology Source Ultimate
Citations, abstracts, and full text materials. Includes articles and books.
Humanities International Index
Citations and abstracts for articles, books, reviews, and reference sources in the humanities. Many links to full text articles.
America, history & life
Resources published from 1964 to present on American and Canadian history.
Journal articles. Most items are older than five years.
Journal articles. Most items are recent publications (less than five years old).
Contextualizing with Data
Data do not speak for themselves. Consider the context of the data you work with:
- Who collected the data, and for what purposes?
- What do these data not tell us about human experiences?
Finding Data and Statistics
Created by ILR library staff, this guide gives an overview of data sources on people, places and policies.
Online tool that provides access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to help visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau serves as the leading provider of quality data on the nation's people and economy.
The U.S. Government's open data portal. Features datasets and visualizations about communities in the nation.
Background Literature Resources
Why use background or tertiary resources?
- Learn important terms, notable scholars or works, and more information about a topic.
- Bibliographies, further reading, and works cited sections can lead you to secondary sources you can use in your research.
- It's a quick overview of a theme, work, author, or other topic, which can save you time!
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Multidisciplinary collection of encyclopedias, biographical collections, specialized handbooks, and more.
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and humanities.
Asian American Society
More than 300 A-to-Z articles authored by AAAS members and experts in the field. Available online.
Includes entries on a wide array of topics on various Asian and Pacific Islander American groups from 1848 to the present day. Available online.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
"Includes laws, historical census data, and other pertinent documents," as well as background information about American immigration. Available in print only.
Encyclopedia of Diasporas
Overviews covers over 20 ethnic groups and topics related to diaspora studies in anthropology, social studies, political studies, international studies, and immigrant and immigration studies. Available online and in print.
Helpful handouts and links
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign Nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The Confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state, and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.
This land acknowledgment has been reviewed and approved by the traditional Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' leadership.