Skip to main content

English Literature: A Guide to Resources: Bibliographies

This bibliography includes reference titles on English (UK) and Commonwealth literature held in the collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as resources accessible online.

Bibliographies

Bibliography of Australian Literature. Compiled by Sally Batten ... [et al.]. Kew, Vic. : Australian Scholarly Pub., 2001-2008. 4 vols. Olin Reference Z4021 .B525 2001
Records separately published volumes by Australian authors from 1788 through 2000, except for authors whose first books appeared after 1992. Includes index of variant names and pseudonyms, title index, a separate bibliography of children's books (1989 - 2000), as well as a list of excluded and relocated authors.
Chaucer Bibliography Online
"The Chaucer Bibliography Online is supported by The University of Texas at San Antonio Library and The New Chaucer Society. This bibliography includes Chaucer studies from 1975 until the present."
Concise Bibliography for Students of English. Kennedy, Arthur G. and Donald B. Sands. 5th ed. Stanford: Stanford UP, 1972. Olin Reference Z 2011 K35 1972
Arranged in three parts dealing with literature, the history of books, and the profession of literary scholarships this bibliography offers "a list of older works of demonstrated usefulness to the student and new works that show great promise." (Preface) Includes an index of periodicals, an index of authors, editors, collaborators, revisers, translators, and assistants, and a subject index.
Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism. Magill, Frank, ed. 4 vols. Englewood Cliffs: Salem, 1979. Uris (A.D. White Library) Z 5916 Ml9
A bibliography of books and articles on literary criticism in the fields of fiction, drama and poetry. The time span for literature covered runs from the Epic of Gilgamesh to the present. Entries are arranged alphabetically by the author being reviewed. (A complete Title Index is provided at the end of volume 4.)
New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. Watson, George, et al., ed. 5 vols. London: Cambridge UP, 1969-1977. Olin Reference Z 2011 B32+ 1969; also Olin Room 501 and Library Annex
Covers English literature from 600 A.D. to modern times. Arranged chronologically and under periods by literary form (e.g. poetry, prose, drama). References given for each author generally include bibliographies of that author, collected editions of his/her works, individual works with dates of 1st editions and subsequent editions within the next 50 years and some biographical and critical citations about the author.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature. Andrew Hadfield, ed.-in-chief.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on British and Irish literature. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Bibliographies. Victorian Literature. editor in chief, Juliet John.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the literature of the Victorian period, which encompasses the reign of Queen Victoria from 1837 to 1901. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Reference Guide for English Studies. Marcuse, Michael J. Univ. of California, 1990.Olin Reference Z2011 M32 1990
A large bibliographic overview of literary studies -- not limited to Anglo-American -- arranged by period, country, genre, author, etc., Lists and often annotates important secondary sources. Lists major journals as well as books in any given subject area.
World Shakespeare Bibliography.
Published for the Folger Shakespeare Library by The Johns Hopkins University Press, [1999?]- Electronic coverage as of June 3, 2003: 1968-2003. When complete, it will provide annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1900.