Skip to main content

Multicultural Literature of the United States: European American Writers

This guide contains tips and strategies for locating biographical and critical information on American writers grouped by ethnicity (e.g., African-American, Jewish-American, etc.), as well a bibliography of resources, both in print and online.

Chuck Palahniuk

Reference Sources for European American Writers

The Italian American Heritage: a Companion to Literature and Arts, edited by Pellegrino D'Acierno. New York: Garland Pub., 1999. (Olin stacks E 184 I8 I675x 1999)
Though not a reference book in the standard dictionary or encyclopedic form, this collection of essays by 27 scholars is "designed to serve as a reference work documenting the history of Italian American culture and as a critical project dedicated to the analysis of Italian American identity." (Back cover). Essays survey such subjects as Italian-American literary history, Italian-American novelists and poets, Italian-American women writers, Italian-American film, and the evolution of Italian-American autobiography. Most articles include selected bibliographies. Appendices provide a chronology of the Italian-American experience from 1492-1998, and a glossary of relevant Italian terms.

Ward, Robert E. A Bio-Bibliography of German-American Writers, 1670-1970. White Plains, NY: Kraus, 1985. (Olin Ref Z1229 G3 W26)
Contains brief biographical entries on more than 3,000 authors, poets, dramatists and other writers of German-American background. Each entry provides a list of writings by the listed author as well as some secondary references. Introductory sections list anthologies in which German-American creative literature can be found, and survey periodicals that popularized German-American literature. A selective bibliography is appended.