Skip to main content

Multicultural Literature of the United States: Asian American Writers

This guide contains tips and strategies for locating biographical and critical information on American writers grouped by ethnicity (e.g., African-American, Jewish-American, etc.), as well a bibliography of resources, both in print and online.

David Henry Hwang

Reference Sources for Asian-American Writers

Asian American Drama. [Alexandria, VA]: Alexander Street Press, c2002-
This edition of Asian American Drama contains 70 plays by 17 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Includes full texts, selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Cheung, King-Kok. Asian American Literature: an Annotated Bibliography. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1988. Kroch Library Asia Ref Z 1229 A75 C47x 1988
Covers writers of Asian descent living in the U.S. or Canada, and includes listings for both primary and secondary sources. Arranged by ethnicity, then by format. Name index.

Asian American Novelists: a Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook, edited by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000. Print edition: Kroch Library Asia Ref PS153.A84 A825x 2000

Asian American Playwrights: a Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook, edited by Miles Xian Liu. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. Print edition: Kroch Library Asia Ref PS338.A74 A9 2002

Asian-American Poets: a Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook, edited by Guiyou Huang; Emmanuel S. Nelson, advisory editor. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. (Kroch Library Asia Ref PS153.A84 A826 2002)

Asian American Short Story Writers: an A-to-Z Guide, edited by Guiyou Huang. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003. (Kroch Library Asia Stacks PS153.A84 A828 2003+)

The Asian Pacific American Heritage: a Companion to Literature and Arts. Edited by George J. Leonard. New York : Garland Pub., 1999. (Kroch Library Asia Stacks PS 153 A84 A87x 1999)
"This collection of 63 original articles, written by expert contributors renowned in their specialties, has been designed to support those students, teachers, and librarians who may be unfamiliar with Asian Pacific American culture but need accessible, in-depth information on the topics that will unlock the work of contemporary Asian Pacific American writers and artists..." (Publisher)