Skip to main content

Multicultural Literature of the United States: Article
Databases

This guide contains tips and strategies for locating biographical and critical information on American writers grouped by ethnicity (e.g., African-American, Jewish-American, etc.), as well a bibliography of resources, both in print and online.

Edwidge Danticat


Edwidge Danticat

Periodical Article Databases

Article Databases

  • MLA Bibliography
    The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively. Approximately 4,000 journals and series are screened, and entries for books are included. Entries appear both for collections of essays and for their contents. Coverage extends back to 1963. Subject descriptors for ethnic american literatures are usually in hyphenated form (e.g., Japanese-American).

  • Humanities International Index
    Contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international publications, providing citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Some links to full text.

  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and Native American press. Fully searchable. Covers back to 1990. Provides the option of choosing either English or Spanish language interface.

  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science)
    An ISI citation databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. It can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. Very useful for locating book reviews. Coverage begins with 1988.

  • Chicano Database
    a comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

  • HAPI, Hispanic American periodicals index.
    Contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage begins in 1970.