Call Number: Olin Stacks and Annex HM1 .A61 Print cancelled in 2009
Synthesizes the primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in sociology and its subfields. A keyword search option accesses authoritative articles by specific topic, methodology or theory.
A definitive reference source. Commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of scholars and teachers, including Cornell faculty. Detailed subject index at the end. Valuable selective bibliographies lead to further reading. Provides explanations of key concepts and extended explorations of major topics. Includes research and theoretical developments from outside of the United States, especially Western Europe. Historical depth as well as more recent developments. Additional features include a timeline and a lexicon by subject area. The online version is updated three times a year.
Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) and Mann HM17 .E56 2000 +
Academic sociologists provide background articles with references on 370 major topics and themes.This classic reference source has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years.
Significant encyclopedia in a burgeoning new field includes some 250 signed entries. Examines how economics and society are interrelated. Entries are cross-referenced and include succinct bibliographies. Subject index. Advisors include Cornell Professor Richard Swedberg.
Updates the classic 1968 International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. An ambitious project to map and describe the state of the art in all fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 section editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Alphabetically organized and extensively cross-referenced.
Presents current and complete information, as well as techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in an accessible style. Although the range of topics is intended to be comprehensive, each individual entry is designed to provide only an introduction to the topic at hand. Each entry is following by a list of key readings on the topic.
Authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, quantitative and qualitative, by an international collection of experts. Covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and specific statistical techniques.
A comprehensive, interdisciplinary compendium of original entries focusing on the origins, evolution, and global development of contemporary social theory. Click on "Search in this Book" in the box on the right for full text searching.