Skip to main content
- Dower, John W. with Timothy S. George. Japanese History and Culture from Ancient to Modern Times: Seven Basic Bibliographies. Princeton: Markus Wiener, 1995.
- (Kroch Library Asia Z 3306 .D74 1995)
- These bibliographies are multidisciplinary in their content and
cover materials from ancient Japan through the Occupation period after
World War II, with materials as late as the 1990s. The primary materials
in English on the crisis in Asia from 1931-45 are especially useful to
non-native speakers of Japanese. The bibliographies are arranged by
period, then subject.
- Huber, Kristina Ruth. Women in Japanese Society: An Annotated Bibliography of Selected English Language Materials. Westport: Greenwood, 1992.
- (Kroch Library Asia Z 7964.J3 H82x 1992)
- About 2,300 items are annotated and organized by topics, including
education, legal status, health, fashion, and more. Includes
biographical information of authors, and has an index.
- Japanese Publications in Foreign Languages, 1945-1990. Tokyo: Japan Book Publishers Association, 1990.
- (Kroch Library Asia Z 3308 .L5 J353x 1990 +)
- Includes Japanese books, articles, and dissertations originally
published in Japan and translated into Western languages from 1945-1990.
Arranged by subject. It does not include translations into Asian
languages (a future project), arranged alphabetically by author name,
romanized form with Japanese characters, general index. The revised
edition of this work covers 1990-1995, but limits the content to works
of Japanese literature and not works about Japanese literature. Call
number +PL 726.55 .J37 1997z
- Makino, Yasuko and Mihoko Miki. Japan and the Japanese: A Bibliographic Guide to Reference Sources. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1996.
- (Kroch Library Asia Z 3306 .M33x 1996)
- This annotated bibliography covers a broad range of subjects in Japanese Studies. Covers mostly titles in English.