Skip to main content

Japanese Studies in English: A Research Guide: Finding
Articles

Click on the TABS to access each section of the guide.

Periodical Indexes

Bibliography of Asian Studies. 1971 to date.
Indexes
Contains more than 545,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Since 1992, newly published individual monographs are no longer being added to the database, and users seeking monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (such as RLIN Eureka and OCLC WorldCat).

Project Muse
Indexes/Full Text
Access to the full text of Asian Studies journals is available in this searchable database published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Choose Advanced Search. Change "By Journal" to "All Muse Titles by Subject" and highlight Asian Studies in the list below it."

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive.
Indexes/Full Text
JSTOR is a fully-searchable, full-text database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. Choose Search. click on the Advanced Search link, and limit your searching to the fifteen Asian Studies journals in JSTOR by clicking the checkbox in the "These Discipline(s) and/or Journal(s)" section. Note that the most recent three to five years of each title is not available in JSTOR.

See also NDL (National Diet Library of Japan) OPAC. From this screen, you can search the Zasshi kiji sakuin (Japanese Periodical Index).