Skip to main content
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
- Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. New York: Kodansha, 1983-1986. 9 vols.
- (Kroch Asia Reference DS 805 .K76 )
- "The first comprehensive encyclopedia" about Japan in English. Over 9,000 short entries are contained in the eight-volume encyclopedia, supplemented by a one-volume index. Coverage includes philosophy, history, science, politics, economics, literature and the arts, food and clothing from both a historical and a contemporary perspective. Bibliographies are appended to most of the longer articles. Illustrated with black and white photos, charts, and maps. This was the single most useful print source on Japan for the non-Japanese reader when it was published, and is yet to be replaced with a comparablely comprehensive source, although some of the articles (and especially bibliographies) are now somewhat dated.
- EIU Country Reports. Economist Intelligence Unit. Monthly updates.
- Analysis of current political, policy and economic trends with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from reliable sources and reviewed by EIU analysts to provide consistent, objective. and impartial coverage. Equivalent coverage across over 195 countries worldwide. Select Japan from the list.
- Embree, Ainslee, ed. Encyclopedia of Asian History. New York: Scribner, 1988. 4 vols.
- (Kroch Asia Reference DS 31 .E56; also in Library Annex)
- Volume 2 includes a discussion of Japan with a map.
- Frédéric, Louis. Japan Encyclopedia. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2002.
- (Kroch Asia DS 821 .F73 2002)
- Translated from the French into English by Käthe Roth. Alphabetical listing, includes a bibliography for each subject and an index.
- Handbook of Japanese Popular Culture. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
- (Library Annex DS 822.5 .H23; also Kroch Asia Stacks)
- Signed essays on major topics in popular culture as of the late 1980s with bibliographies.
- Hsu, Robert C. The MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1999. 2nd edition.
- (Kroch Asia Reference HC 462.9 .H73x 1999)
- "The MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy, which covers all major aspects of Japan's post-war economy, is the most comprehensive English-language encyclopedia currently available. Some 180 topical essays covering banks, financial systems, major industries, corporate groups, management practices, labor unions, international trade and investments, government economic policies, and a host of other important topics are included along with some two hundred short definitional entries giving translations and cross-references for important Japanese economic terms. The overall result is a useful reference for all students and scholars of the Japanese economy." -- From a review by Declan Hayes. Full review.
- Hunter, Janet. Concise Dictionary of Modern Japanese History. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1983.
- (Kroch Asia Reference DS 881.9 .H94)
- A handy and basic guide to Japanese history that is organized alphabetically and includes romaji and Japanese characters and recommended reading for most entries. The appendices list era names, emperors, population statistics, political party information, Japanese cabinets, and a helpful glossary.
- Keene, Donald. Dawn to the West: Japanese Literature of the Modern Era. New York: Columbia University Press, 1984-1998. 2 vols.
- (Uris Stacks and Kroch Asia Stacks PL 726.55 .K26; Uris Stacks PL 726.55 .K39x 1998)
- A history of modern Japanese literature. Volume 1 covers fiction [novels, short stories]; volume 2 covers poetry, drama, and literary criticism.
- Japan: A Country Study. 5th edition. Washington: Library of Congress, Federal Research Division, 1992.
- Written by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, this online guide includes a profile of Japan and has chapters on history, society, environment, education, the arts, the character and structure of the economy, international economic relations, the political system, foreign relations, national security, and a lengthy bibliography for each chapter. Also in print, Kroch Asia Reference DS 806 .C43 1991.
For more recent information on politics and the economy of Japan, see EIU Country Reports, above.
- Japan Knowledge.
- An online reference collection of Japanese encyclopedias and dictionaries. The database can be used on any computer with a Cornell IP address. The user interface is Japanese-only, but if you type English words on the search line (Onelook) you will get entries from the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, one of the reference books included.
- Merriam Webster's Geographical Dictionary. Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1997. 3rd edition.
- (Kroch Asia Reference G 103 .W38 1997, shelved in dictionary stand by Asia Desk)
- Alphabetical listing of place names and geographical features. Page 549: map of Japan, including prefectures, major islands and cities.
- Hsu, Robert C. Modern Japanese Writers. New York: Scribner, 2001.
- (Kroch Asia stacks +PL 723 .M563x 2001; Uris Reference PL 723 .M563x 2001)
- Essays on the major 20th-century Japanese writers. Part of the reliable Scribners Writers series. Bibliographies of works by and about the authors.
- Perkins, Dorothy. Encyclopedia of Japan: Japanese History and Culture, from Abacus to Zori. New York: Facts on File, 1991.
- (Kroch Asia Reference DS 805 .P44)
- An introduction to the history and culture of Japan. An alphabetical listing of major categories, cross references, and a bibliography at the end, with index.
- Rimer, J. Thomas. A Reader's Guide to Japanese Literature. New York: Kodansha International, 1988.
- (Kroch Library Asia PL 715 .R57 R28, also Uris Reference)
- Includes 30 modern works and lists translations.
- Makino, Seiichi and Michio Tsutsui. A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar. Tokyo: Japan Times, 1986.
- (Kroch Asia PL 679 .M23
- About 200 words and phrases arranged in alphabetical order. Entries
include meaning, related expressions, sample sentences, and grammatical
- O'Neill, P. G. Japanese Names: A Comprehensive Index by Characters and Readings. New York: Weatherhill, 1972.
- (Kroch Asia Reference CS 1301 .O58)
- A guide to reading names in Japanese characters. 3,600 characters
with readings in part one and 5,000 readings of personal and family
names in part two.
- Spahn, Mark and Wolfgang Hadamitzky with Kimiko Fujie-Winter. Japanese Character Dictionary with Compound Lookup via any Kanji. Tokyo: Nichigai Associates, 1989.
- (Kroch Asia Reference PL 679 .S73)
- Takebayashi, Shigeru, ed. Kenkyusha Nichi-Ei jiten = The Kenkyusha Japanese-English Learner's Dictionary. Tokyo: Kenkyusha, 1992.
- (Kroch Asia Reference PL 679 .K382x 1992)
- Designed for students of modern Japanese. Japanese words are listed
by romanized word (romaji), followed by the meaning and usage.