Skip to main content

Cornell University History: A Research Guide: University
Archives

Click on the tabs to access each section.

University Archives

The Cornell University Archives is part of the Rare and Manuscript Collections located on the 2B Level of Kroch Library.

The Rare and Manuscripts Collections "houses the Cornell University Archives, which includes records of the founding and growth of the university as well as an extensive collection documenting regional history."

The Archives collects and preserves records of historical, legal, fiscal, and/or administrative value to Cornell University. Holdings include official records and reports of the university, its officers, and component parts; private papers of faculty, students, staff, and alumni; official and student publications; maps and architectural records; audiovisual materials including still photographs and negatives, motion picture film, oral history interviews, and audio and video tapes; and artifacts and ephemera documenting Cornell's history. More information about the University archives and Cornell history.

Images from Cornell's Rare and Manuscripts Collections [http://rmc-images.library.cornell.edu/] contains many historic Cornell images. Disable pop-up blockers before launching the collection by clicking on the "view the images" link.

Selected online RMC exhibitions concerning Cornell's history:

150 Ways to Say Cornell: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/cornell150/exhibition/introduction/index.html]
Alpha Phi Alpha [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/alpha/index.html]
Cornell's College of Architecture, Art & Planning: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/Aap-exhibit/]
Cornell's Presidents: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/presidents/]
Cornell's University Librarians: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/libraryhistory/librarians/]
Cornell's Women in the Veterinary College: [http://www.vet.cornell.edu/library/archives/Legacy/]
Early Black Women at Cornell: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/earlyblackwomen/introduction/index.html]
Ezra Cornell: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/Ezra/] and [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/Ezra-exhibit/entrance.html]
Home Economics at Cornell: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/homeEc/default.html]
In the Founders' Footsteps: Builders of the Cornell University Library: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/footsteps/exhibition/foundingcollections/index.html
Liberty Hyde Bailey: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/bailey/]
Nabokov at Cornell: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/lolita/]
The Passionate Collector: Willard Fiske and His Libraries: [http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/collector/]

Dear Uncle Ezra

The Dear Uncle Ezra archive

While not strictly speaking part of the University Archives, Dear Uncle Ezra is an important source of historical information about Cornell.  No longer an active service, Dear Uncle Ezra was, according to Cornell University Archivist Evan Earle, the oldest web help desk of its kind. The content of the site has been archived and is searchable. For assistance with the online archive of Dear Uncle Ezra, please ask at the reference desk in Olin Library.