Skip to main content

Biographical Resources: A Research Guide: K. G. Saur Indexes & Microfiche

A selection of major sources of biographical information purchased or licensed by the Cornell University Library.

SAUR Indexes

Saur and Chadwyck-Healey Biographical Indexes and Dictionaries on Microfiche

K. G. Saur has published large indexed microfiche collections of biographical dictionaries. We own sets for the United States, Britain, France, Germany, plus Jewish people of all nationalities. Each article in the biographical dictionaries is individually reproduced on microfiche (filed on the B level of Olin in the Olin Reference section of classified microfiche in cabinets against the wall in the aisle between the Microforms Alcove and the ++A call numbers shelving  map of Olin Library Level B) and is indexed in a corresponding multi-volume printed index set shelved in Olin Reference collection on the main floor. The following table provides information on each title.

We also have two Chadwyck-Healey sets: one for the Soviet Union and a Chadwyck-Healey set for British and Irish Biographies, 1840-1940. Details in the table below.

Note that some of the biographical dictionaries covered in these sets will also be available in the original print form in our stacks (search our catalog) or online full text (search the title in Google) because they are out of copyright.

 

Sets published by K. G. Saur

American Biographical Archive I; American Biographical Archive II.

Call number: Olin Library Reference Microfiche CT 213 .A51
Index:  American Biographical Index, 2nd ed. Call number: Olin Reference, CT 213.A511 1998
Notes: ABA I: 1,842 fiche; ABA II: 730 fiche. Covers U.S. & Canada

British Biographical Archive I; British Biographical Archive, series 2

Call number: Olin Library Reference, Microfiche CT 773 .B86
Index:  British Biographical Index, 2nd ed. Call number: Olin Library Reference, CT 773 .B86 1998
Notes: BBA I/II: 1601-1978. 1,862 fiche

Archives Biographiques Françaises I; Archives Biographiques Françaises II

Call number: Olin Library Reference, Microfiche CT 1003 .I532

Index: Index Biographique Français, 2nd ed. Call number: Olin Library Reference, CT 1003 .I53x 1998
Notes: ABF I: 400 AD-1914; ABF II: 1800-1960s
Includes Swiss, Belgian, & Canadian Francophones.

Deutsches Biographisches Archiv I; Deutsches Biographisches Archiv. Neue Folge...; Deutsches Biographisches Archiv, 1960-1999

Call number: Olin Library Reference, Microfiche CT 1053 .D48
Index: Deutscher Biographischer Index, 2nd ed. DBA I & DBA Neue Folge only. Call number: Olin Library Reference, CT 1053 .D48 1998 index
Notes: DBA I: 1707-1907: 1,431 fiche; DBA II: 1900-1959: 1,457 fiche; DBA III: 1960-1999: 1,058 fiche

Jüdisches Biographisches Archiv; Jüdisches Biographisches Archiv Supplement

Call number: Olin Library Reference Microfiche DS 115 .J842
Index: ;Jüdisches Biographischer Index. Olin Library Reference, DS 115 .J84x 1998; Notes:JBA: 661 fiche
Supplement: 120 fiche
1781-1958

Sets published by Chadwyck-Healey

British and Irish Biographies, 1840-1940

Call number: Microfiche 730, filed in the Microform Alcove on the B Level of Olin Library.
Index: The index is on fiche shelved in a binder. Call number: Olin Library Reference, CT 773 .B662.
Notes: 1840-1940. 2,218 silver halide fiche

Soviet Biographic Archive

Call number: Olin Library Reference, Microfiche CT 1203 .S72
Index: No print index; the fiche is filed by last name.
Notes: 1954-1985. 2,812 fiche

 

 

Web Accessibility Assistance