Skip to main content

History: Strategy in World War II: Background

A guide to library research

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography

Cambridge Histories

Holocaust

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum encyclopedia of camps and ghettos, 1933-1945. ed., Geoffrey P. Megargee. Indiana University Press, c2009-c2012. (Olin Library Reference D805.A2 U55 2009 +) Four volumes. Excellent. Extremely detailed, including actions of units.

Language Dictionaries

Bibliographies

Recommended for primary and secondary sources:

World War II in Europe, Africa, and the Americas, with general sources: a handbook of literature and research. edited by Loyd E. Lee ; foreword by Mark A. Stoler ; Robin Higham, advisory editor. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997. (in print at Olin Library Reference D743.42 .W92 1997)

Encyclopedias

The Oxford companion to World War II  (also in print at Olin Library Reference D740 .O98 1995)

World War II in the Pacific : an encyclopedia.   (Olin Library Reference D767 .W68x 2001 +)

Encyclopedia of Holocaust literature.  (Olin Library Reference PN56.H55 E53x 2002+ 

The Holocaust encyclopedia (Also in print Olin Library Reference D804.25 .H66x 2001)

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust  (Olin Library Oversize D804.25 .E53 2000+)

The Columbia guide to the Holocaust 

The encyclopedia of the Third Reich (Olin Library Reference DD256.5 .G865 1991 +)

Historical Dictionary of World War II France: the Occupation, Vichy, and the Resistance, 1938-1946  (also in print at Olin Library Reference DC397 .H58x 1998)

Historical dictionary of World War II intelligence (Olin Library stacks D810.S7 W385 2008)

Dictionnaire de la seconde guerre mondiale en Belgique (Olin Library stacks D763.B4 D53 2008)

World War II: an encyclopedia of quotations 

The D-Day encyclopedia (Olin Library stacks Oversize D756.5.N6 D22x 1994+)

Volkslexikon Drittes Reich: die Jahre 1933-1945 in Wort und Bild (Olin Library stacks DD256.5 .P439 1994z)

World War II : America at war, 1941-1945 (Library Annex  D743.5 .P56x 1991)

World War II in Europe, Africa, and the Americas, with General Sources (Olin Reference D743.42 .W92 1997)

The Oxford Companion to United States history. Oxford University Press, 2001. (Also in print, Olin Library Reference E174 .O94 2001 +).

Dictionary of American history. A classic ten volume encyclopedia. (in print--Olin Library Reference E174 .D52x 2003 +).

 Encyclopedia of American foreign policy. Thomson/Gale, 2002. 2nd ed. Also in print, (Olin Library Reference E183.7 .E52x 2002 +).

Similar titles exist in print and online for other nations, other topics.  To find them, ask at Olin Reference or do a guided keyword search in the Classic Catalog.

Virginia Cole

Virginia A. Cole, Ph.D.'s picture
Virginia A. Cole, Ph.D.
Contact:
vac11@cornell.edu
106 Olin Library
Website