Labor Unions and the Internet: Health and Safety

"The National Council for Occupational Safety and Health (National COSH) is a federation of local and statewide "COSH" groups--Committees/Coalitions on Occupational Safety and Health. COSH groups are private, non-profit coalitions of labor unions, health and technical professionals, and others interested in promoting and advocating for worker health and safety."

Find statistics and time series for the U.S.

OSHA has statistics on workplace injury, illness and fatalities. It also provides establishment-level stats on inspections and investigations. The latter is a good place to find out whether an establishment is unionized. See the A to Z guide for statistics.

The National Center for Health Statistics' is the Nation’s principal health statistics agency; they compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the Nation’s people.

Find information on health, disability, social security payments, trust funds, as well as international information.

The ILO's database of statistics, contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies. The Yearly indicators dataset contains standardized indicators for purposes of greater comparability across countries and relies heavily on the official submission of data by national authorities. The Short term indicators dataset contains monthly, quarterly and semi-annual data drawn from official websites of national authorities and is updated on a monthly basis. Additional data and tools are available from the site. This database replaces LABORSTA.

Links to resources and advice for union workers and representatives.

A database on safety and health at work produced by the International Occupational Safety and Health Information Centre. CISDOC indexes and abstracts articles and other key documents from over 35 countries.

CU Ergo presents information from research studies and class work by students and faculty in the Cornell Human Factors and Ergonomics Research Group (CHFERG), which focuses on ways to enhance usability by improving the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces. Content includes current news on office economic, handy fact sheets on selecting ergonomic furniture and equipment and on computer use, and research studies.

EPA Science Models and Research Tools (SMaRT) Search is a searchable inventory of freely available models, tools, and databases from EPA's Office of Research and Development (ORD)

The Electronic Library of Construction Safety and Health (eLCOSH), provides a wide range of materials on construction safety and health. Supported by NIOSH and the Center for Protection of Workers Rights (CPWR), online materials include: pocket cards, brochures, how-to manuals, chart books, newsletter, research reports, directories, training manuals and overheads, data sets, bibliographies, regulations, summaries of CD-ROMs and videos (and where to get them). English, Spanish, plus...

MedlinePlus presents high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising. Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine/NIH.

This agency is a central provider of information on workplace health and safety for the European Union. Find statistics, news, publication, and monitoring resources.

Valuable website for Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) information on health and health systems. Statistics, policy statements, and information by OECD nations are available.

The American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, a public sector union, has a number of resources on health and safety in the workplace, including an extensive collection of web links, and online publications on ergonomics, workplace violence, and AIDS. This web page is the entry point.

Provides policy papers on statistics on workplace health and safety as well as health protection and income security.

Resources from the United Steel Workers, including downloadable training modules.

A "gateway to reliable consumer health and human services information" on the web. including online publications, clearinghouses, databases, web sites, and support and self-help groups.

Homepage of IAIABC, an organization of workers' compensation specialists from a number of disciplines including Government officials & regulators, business and labor leaders, medical providers, law firms, insurance carriers, rehabilitation & safety experts. Find statistics and other reports on Workers' Compensation.

Published by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, MedlinePlus is an information portal for health and medical information for the consumer. Offerings include medical journal articles, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, drug information, and the latest health news.

NIEHS, the National Institutes of Health's institute for basic research on environment-related diseases. Introduction to NIEHS, its history, research highlights, plus contact and visiting information.

Gateway to a number of free medical databases on such topics as clinical trials, senior health, toxic substances, household products, genetics, and AIDS; see MedlinePlus, the National Library of Medicine’s web site for consumer health information, for consumer health information. -

NSC is a nonprofit, international public service organization dedicated to protecting life and promoting health; members include businesses, labor organizations, schools, public agencies, private groups and individuals. Their many publications and training programs can be purchased through the web site; they also offer, free, fact sheets on over 80 safety topics, including those related to agricultural and environmental safety.

Site includes information on Workers' Compensation Law, Self Insurance programs, managed care programs, and preferred provider programs.

NIOSHTIC-2 is a bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by NIOSH.

A collection of Internet sites owned by a safety and health consulting firm.

PubMed, a digital archive of life sciences journal literature, was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This access point, called Entrez, is a search and retrieval system for a number of databases, including PubMed, PubChem, Taxonomy, a database of biomedical books, and many others.

An extensive collection of downloadable fact sheets, from Acenaphthene to Zirconium; many also available in Spanish.

This guide contains details of Agency funding schemes for good safety and health practice and a study of practical examples of successful occupational safety and health assistance services . It also provides access to a wide range of good practice information.

Features OSHA standards, EPA rulings and new developments in the safety industry with direct links to OSHA, EPA, and other sources of information. Also provides information on sources for safety products, training, and consultation.

SafeWork is an ILO program that aims to develop preventive policies and programs that will protect workers in hazardous occupations and sectors, to better equip governments, employers’ and workers’ organizations to address workers’ occupational health problems, and to document the social and economic impact of improving workers' protection.

From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Resources, SAMHSA features publications on drug and substance abuse in the workplace and a resource guide to setting up an employee assistance program.

A portal (entry point) to the many science-related web sites published by the United State government; you can find sites by topic (ex., Health & Medicine, Environment) or by key word searching.

This site contains numerous links to other MSDS sites, including a link to a glossary of terms used on MSDSs.

The Center for Health Workforce Studies is a not-for-profit research organization whose mission is to provide timely, accurate data and conduct policy-relevant research about the health workforce.