Finding French Dictionaries, etc.
Subject Heading searches work effectively for locating dictionaries, grammars, and thesauri. For best results, enter the following headings in the Catalog as Subject Heading searches.
For FRENCH LANGUAGE DICTIONARIES:
Search french language--dictionaries
For BILINGUAL DICTIONARIES (FRENCH/ENGLISH):
Search, e.g. french language--dictionaries--english or french language--dictionaries--Khmer
For FRENCH LANGUAGE OUTSIDE FRANCE:
Search, e.g., french language--canada--dictionaries
For ETYMOLOGICAL DICTIONARIES:
Search french language--etymology--dictionaries
For DIALECT DICTIONARIES:
Search french language--dialects--dictionaries
For FRENCH GRAMMARS:
Search french language--grammar (includes french language > grammar > 1500-1799)
For VERB CONJUGATIONS:
Search french language--verb--tables
Grammar & Conjugation
- La grammaire d’aujourdʾhui : guide alphabétique de linguistique française byCall Number: Olin Library PC2112 .A77 1986Paris : Flammarion, c1986.
- A comprehensive French grammar byCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC2112 .P75 2008Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2008. 6th ed.
- 501 French verbs fully conjugated in all the tenses in a new easy to learn format, alphabetically arranged byCall Number: Olin Library PC2271 .K33 1982Woodbury, N.Y. : Barron’s Educational Series, Inc., c1982
Reference Resources on Translation
- Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English byCall Number: Olin Library Reference PN241 E56x 2000+London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, c 2000. 2 v.
A historical and analytical survey of the theory and practice of literary translations into English from the principal world languages and from the works of major writers. 600 signed entries. Bibliography. - French literature in Early American Translation: a bibliographical survey of books and pamphlets printed in the United States from 1668 through 1820 byCall Number: Olin Library Reference Z1215 B78 (also in Annex)New York : Garland Pub., 1977
- Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation byCall Number: Olin Library Reference PR131 O94x 2000Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.
Includes scholarly essays on the theory and history of translation studies, as well as critical evaluations of translations from other world literatures into English. With the exception of the separate section covering translations of the Bible, this section is divided geographically or by language family. - Oxford History of Literary Translation in EnglishCall Number: Olin Library PR131 O944 2005 and onlineOxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005-
v. 3. 1660-1790 / edited by Stuart Gillespie and David Hopkins -- v. 4. 1790-1900 / edited by Peter France & Kenneth Haynes
Table of Contents online - Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation studies byCall Number: Olin Library Reference P306 R68x 1998+ and onlineLondon ; New York : Routledge, 1998
French Dictionaries (Modern)
A wide range of French and French-English dictionaries is shelved in Olin Reference in the PC 2001 - 3800 range. Many dictionaries are also housed in the Olin stacks.
General French Language
- Dictionnaire alphabétique et analogique de la langue françaiseCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC2625 R64 1986++Paris : Le Robert, c1986. 2e éd. 9 v.
- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françaiseCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC2625 A16 1992 ++ and ONLINEParis : Impr. nationale, c1992- 9. éd.
- Le dictionnaire culturel en langue française sous la direction d’Alain Rey; direction éditoriale Danièle MorvanCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC2625 D445 2005+Paris : Le Robert, c2005. 4 v.
- Encyclopédie du bon français dans l’usage contemporain; difficultés, subtilités, complexités, singularités [par] P. Dupré. Comité de rédaction sous la présidence de Fernand Keller, avec la collaboration de Jean Batany.Call Number: Olin Library PC2460 .D94 +Paris, Editions de Trévise [1972] 3 v.
- Le grand Robert de la langue française[Paris] : Le Robert, [200-?] Version électronique, 2e éd.
- Le nouveau petit Robert : dictionnaire alphabétique et analogique de la langue françaiseCall Number: Library Annex PC2625 R64 1993 (Another edition at Law Reference)Paris : Dictionnaires Le Robert, c1993.
Specialized Dictionaries
- Dictionnaire des termes officielsCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC2680 D555 1994[Paris] : Délégation générale à la langue française : Direction des journaux officiels, [1994] [9. éd.]
- Media French: a vocabulary of contemporary usage byCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC2460 R58 2008Cardiff: University of Wales Press, 2008.
"Aimed at advanced learners of French, translators, interpreters or anyone following current affairs, Media French is designed to supplement a good French-English dictionary by providing translated headwords of key idioms as encountered in social, political, economic, legal and journalistic usage. In addition, after each headword a selection of actual examples taken from the quality press is provided, giving clear, concise and contemporary examples of its use."--BOOK JACKET. - Insiders’ French: beyond the dictionary byCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC2680 L38x 1999Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1999.
This book "tries to present a verbal snapshot of the France of the mid- and late 1990s." (Preface)
French-English/English-French Dictionaries
- Harrap’s slang : dictionary, English-French = dictionnaire, français-anglais byCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC3741 .H29Edinburgh: Harrap ; [New York]: Distributed by Prentice Hall, 1993
- Oxford-Hachette French dictionary : French-English, English-French byCall Number: Olin Room 604-605, PC2640 O83x 2001 + (Non-Circulating)Paris : Hachette Livre ; Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2001. 3rd ed
- The Oxford-Duden Pictorial French and English DictionaryCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC2680 .O98 1996ISBN: 0198645376Publication Date: 1996-11-28Identifies over 28,000 objects by means of numbered illustrations and offers at a glance their French and English terms.
- Le Robert & Collins dictionnaire français-anglais, anglais-français : senior byCall Number: Olin Library PC2640 C53w 19954th ed. Glasgow ; New York : HarperCollins, 1995.
English title: Collins Robert French-English, English-French Dictionary, Unabridged.
Multiple copies held throughout Uris Library stacks, shelved on dictionary stands in Austen, Dean, Fiske, Kinkeldey rooms and the White Library, as well as near the return shelves on stack levels 3B, B, and 2. Call number: PC2640 C53w 1995
Etymological Dictionaries
- Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue française byCall Number: Olin Library PC2580 D24 1949 (2 copies)Paris : Larousse, [1949], c1938. 10. éd.
- Französisches Etymologisches WörterbuchCall Number: Olin Library Oversize PC2580 .W29 +
French Language Dictionaries (Historical)
- Dictionnaire d'Ancien Francais, Moyen Age et Renaissance byCall Number: Olin Library PC 2889 G75, also Library Annex(Paris: Larousse, 1947)
One volume. - Dictionnaire de l'Ancienne Langue Francaise et de Tous ses Dialectes du IXe au XVe Siecle byCall Number: Olin Library Reference PC 2889 G58+ 1961 (reprint of the original), OLIN PC 2889 G58+ (original edition, shelved in Olin 301)(Paris: Vieweg, 1881-1902)
In ten volumes. Online and in print. - Dictionnaire de la Langue Francaise du Seizieme Siecle byCall Number: Olin Library PC 2650 H89+(Paris: E. Champion, 1925-1973).
In seven volumes. - Dictionnaire du Francais Classique byCall Number: Olin Library PC 2650 D812 1988(Paris: References Larousse, 1988)
- Dictionnaires d'autrefoisFrench Dictionaries from the 17th - 20th centuries, including several Dictionnaires de l'Académie française along with the Estienne, Nicot, Bayle, Moréri, Féraud, and Littré. (via ARTFL)
Includes:
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. First Edition (1694)
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Fourth Edition (1762)
Jean-François Féraud's Dictionaire critique de la langue Française (1787)
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Fifth Edition (1798)
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Sixth Edition (1835)
Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française. Eighth Edition (1932-35)
Le Trésor de la Langue Française (TLFi) Dictionary.
Dictionarium latinogallicum (1552).
Digital Dictionaries of South Asia. - Le Francais Classique; Lexique de la Langue du Dix-Septieme Siecle... byCall Number: Olin Library PC 2650 C38, also Library Annex(Paris: Didier, 1923)
Online and in print - Thresor de la Langve Francoise, Tant Ancienne que Moderne. Au quel Entre Autres Choses Sont les Mots Propres de Marine, Venerie, & Fauconnerie... Reveu et Augmente en Ceste Derniere Impression de Plus de la Moite byCall Number: Olin Library PC 2620 R18+ 1960(Paris: Picard, [1960])
A facsimile of the of the 1606 edition published by D. Douceure. A copy of the original is kept in Kroch Library's Dept. of Rare Books.