Start Here: Developing Key Words
Step 1: In class, you've been watching and reading content related to experiences and expressions of girlhood in horror films. In thinking about some of the ideas you've discussed in class related to feminist studies, gender representation, or other themes, take a few moments to brainstorm some keywords or terms you would use to describe those sources.
Step 2: Around the room, you'll notice a few books from the Olin Library collection. Take a few minutes to look through these sources and brainstorm a few other keywords you might use to describe these books, or to find similar resources.
Enter your keywords here on the class Padlet!
Getting Started with Tertiary Sources
Tertiary sources are broad references sources that can proved an overview or background on particular topics. They include sources like encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes, and bibliographies---these can be particularly useful if you aren't sure where to start with your research!
Cinema Studies: the Key ConceptsCall Number: Current (2018) print edition: Olin PN1993.45 .H36 2018Publication Date: Routledge, 2000
Dictionary of Film StudiesCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN1993.45 .K75 2012Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2012
Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic MonstersCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 56 M55 W45 2013Publication Date: Ashgate, 2014
Encyclopedia of the GothicCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN3435 E56 2013+Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2013- Encyclopedia of Gender and SocietyCall Number: Online and Olin Reference HQ 1115 .E54 2009 +
Palgrave Handbook to Horror LiteraturePublication Date: Palgrave, 2018
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Malden, Mass.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011
Searching the Library Catalogue
Primary Sources: Archival Materials at Cornell
Secondary Sources: Articles & Literature
Scholarly Articles:
MLA International Bibliography
Humanities International Index
FIAF International Index to FIlm Periodicals
Periodicals, News, & Other Media:
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Streaming Sources
Cornell Libraries have access to a number of streaming services, as well as image databases to support visual research.
Full list of streaming databases
Databases & Collections
The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of images you can download and add to your papers and other projects. You need to keep in mind that some of them have licensing restricts that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the library Visual Resources page for links and information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.
Further Reading
Gender and Contemporary Horror in Television by ISBN: 1787691047Publication Date: 2019-03-13This edited collection investigates the rising popularity of horror-television through deconstructing the gender roles within them via series of case studies including such programmes as Hannibal, American Horror Story, The Walking Dead, Penny Dreadful, Supernatural, The Exorcist and Bates Motel. By using a series of case studies and employing theoretical modes of close analysis, each chapter demonstrates how and why these TV shows are important in reflecting the changing gender roles within modern society.
Stepford Daughters by ISBN: 1942173695Publication Date: 2022-10-04In Stepford Daughters, Johanna Isaacson explores an emerging wave of horror films that get why class horror and gender horror must be understood together. In doing so, Isaacson makes the case that this often-maligned genre is in fact a place where oppressed people can understand, navigate and confront an increasingly ugly and horrifying world.
It Came from the Closet by ISBN: 1952177790Publication Date: 2022-10-04Through the lens of horror--from Halloween to Hereditary--queer and trans writers consider the films that deepened, amplified, and illuminated their own experiences.
Collaborative Resource List!
Now that you've had a chance to familiarize yourself with some of the resources available to you through the library, let's work together to build a collaborative resource page for this class! Take some time to search the library catalogue, databases, digital collections, etc.! As you find content that you find useful, add some examples to the course Padlet! You can simply enter book or article citations, add images, link to interesting articles, or any other content you find interesting!
Feel free to treat the Padlet like a blog page---comment on other posts, ask research questions, and list ideas any ideas you have in relation to the course content!
Engaged Learning Librarian
Citation & Why It Matters!
Just as it's important to draw on information from a variety of sources in your research, it's also important to consider who you're citing in your work. Citation matters because it shows your credibility as a researcher, gives credit to others in your field, and elevates the voices of other researchers contributing to a particular body of work.
To effectively practice citation, it's important to consider citation justice, or the act of citing authors based on identify to uplift marginalized voices with the knowledge that citation is used as a form of power in a patriarchal society based on white supremacy. To practice citation justice, here are a few things to consider:
- Ask yourself: Whose research is this? Whose interests does it serve? Who is framing its scope? How is this research disseminated?
- If there is a gap in information or a particular voice missing from your references, address that gap in your writing!
- Practice "auditing": when you have compiled a list of references, take time to evaluate the range of authors or creators you cite in your research.
Cornell has many citation tools and guides to help you!
ZoteroBib is a basic citation generator to help you create a works cited list.
Our subject guides on citation styles are a great reference depending on the citation style you will use in your work.
For additional help with citation format, in-text citations, and related information, Excelsior Writing Lab is an excellent online resource where you can find more information about citation.
What Else Can I do at the Library?
Can't find the book or resource you're looking for? Get it through Borrow Direct, InterLibrary Loan, or recommend a purchase!
Looking for study space for a group or yourself? Find one here!
Need personalized research support? Meet with a librarian one-on-one, get to know your department's liaison librarian, or check out our 24/7 chat!
Need to rent a laptop, audio and video equipment, camera, or other tech? Rent it here!
Looking to learn a new skill like citation management, QGIS, or collections research? Check out our calendar of workshops!
Interested in checking out cool exhibitions, meeting authors, seeing new films, and more? Check out the CUL events calendar!
Do you like to read for fun? We have a guide for that!
Stay in the loop about what's happening at the library by following us on social media!
