Semiotics
Screen shot of Martha Rosler's Semiotics of the Kitchen, 1975, featured on a button made for Art + Feminism Wikipedia edit-a-thon
Specialized Arts & Humanities Databases
- Art & Architecture SourceThis database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- ARTbibliographies modernAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year.
- Humanities International IndexIndexes articles and books across arts and humanities disciplines from a multitude of U.S. and international publications. HII also provides citations for original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Many links to full text.
- FIAF International Index to Film PeriodicalsContains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 academic and popular film journals. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects). Coverage extends back to 1972.
Searching Articles and Databases
Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles
Strategy 1: Cast a broad net -- Search a number of article citation sources all at once by using the "Articles and Full Text" search on the library website.
Strategy 2 (preferred!): Be more focused by searching individual databases. Databases are browsable by title and by subject area.
Databases organized by subject
Article Databases & Indexes
Full-text Collections
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals. Most of the articles are at least five years old. Since it is searching the full text, be sure to use the Advanced Search function to narrow down results as much as possible. It is not uncommon to get search results of many thousands of hits in JSTOR.
Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities. Covers recent issues of many journals that may not appear in JSTOR.
Finding journal articles when you don't have the full text
Search for the JOURNAL title in the library catalog:
Roe, Jeremy. Apollo; London Vol. 179, Iss. 616, (Jan 2014): 84-85.
Search for journal title = Apollo
