GIS Resources
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)Aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States, 1790 to present.
Historical Statistics
- Employment Research Data Center (W.E. Upjohn Institute)The Upjohn Institute serves as the data repository for many research and evaluation projects sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Data from these projects (along with specific information related to the data) and final reports are offered via download at no charge.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Millenial Online EditionThis is a comprehensive collection of tables with hard-to-find historical statistics. Find stats on workers and immigrants. Also available in print.
- Publications of the U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsFind scanned copies of BLS catalogs that list BLS publications from 1886-1998. Full text of the publications described in the catalogs can be found in U. S. libraries as well as in some historical subscription databases.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau)Find a wide range of government-produced statistical tables from 1789-2012. Be sure to look at the tables' footnotes for find the recording agency. After 2013, data published as ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S., listed separately.
Trade Unions in Western Europe since 1945 by Call Number: ILR Reference HD6657 .E335 2000; accompanying CD-Rom.ISBN: 1561592447Publication Date: 2000-11-11This reference traces the evolution of trade unions in Europe over the later half of the 20th Century. It provides a country overview of the union movement, chronologies, and membership tables. Use the accompanying CD-ROM to create custom spreadsheets from the wealth of data in the handbook.- U. S. Union Sourcebook: Membership, Structure, Finance, Directory byCall Number: ILR Reference HD6508 .T86 1985ISBN: 0961392304Publication Date: 1985-02-01Contains tables that describe individual labor unions and the labor movement from 1897-1985. This is a unique compilation with a wealth of information.
- Social ExplorerOnline research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. Create fast, intuitive, and illustrative maps and reports to help visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Site currently includes data from the entire US Census from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey to 2008, original Census tract-level estimates for 2006 and 2007, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000, and 2002 Carbon Emissions Data from the Vulcan Project.
Data Sets
- CEIC Data ManagerCEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Our Global Database offers unprecedented coverage of 221 countries in Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Middle East, Africa and the Americas. EIC also offers 18 macro-economic concepts, and 1,400,000 time series. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered. The CEIC Data Manager provides access to the entire CEIC database from within the Microsoft Excel spreadsheet application. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the database and imported into Excel for quick analysis.
- Data.govExcellent and growing source for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labor and employment.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchCornell is a member institution. After registering, Cornell users can view and download over 500,000 digital data files, including many relating to labor, organizational behavior, and public policy. The data sets are often connected with academic studies. This resource is well worth a detailed look.
- Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)The page provides various ways to access BLS data.
- ILO Statistical Data, Union(Information about database. Database must be requested.) The ILO has created a database on trade union membership. It contains data for 45 countries from 1990-Available in Excel files on request from the ILO Bureau of Statistics.
- Data Access Tools from the CensusProvides links to the various tools that can be used to access and manipulate Census data.
- Complete World Development Report OnlineA new online, open access, collection of all World Development Reports since 1978 was launched today by the World Bank. The Complete World Development Report Online, which allows users to easily access and search across these World Bank annual flagship publications, is free and open to the public.
- eiu.com (Economic Intelligence Unit)Follow the link to EIU Viewpoint. Provides economic data and in-depth reports on nearly 200 countries, world areas, regions and organizations.
- Employment Research Data Center (W.E. Upjohn Institute)The Upjohn Institute serves as the data repository for many research and evaluation projects sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Data from these projects (along with specific information related to the data) and final reports are offered via download at no charge.
- Google Public DataAnother site to watch. Google is adding new public data every week.
- Roper Center For Public Opinion ResearchA nonprofit education and research organization and data repository located at the University of Connecticut. Provides a history of the Center and information on the development and methodology of public opinion polling. Maintains a data archive of public opinion polls conducted or sponsored by major polling, media, and public policy organizations such as Gallup, Roper, ABC, CBS, CNN, NBC, Pew Research Centers, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal. The data held range from the 1930s to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the US by more than 150 survey organizations.Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets ready for instant access and express downloading through RoperExpress.
- SourceOECDSourceOECD is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD, when complete, will comprise 19 Studies by Themes, containing all our monographs and reports; 19 periodicals online; some reference titles online; and the OECD statistical databases online.
- General Social SurveyGSS "conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations. Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies.
- Regional Economic Data ToolkitThe Regional Economic Data Toolkit brings together four searchable and downloadable U.S. datasets: Cost of living index, state incentives, state expenditures, and economic diversity index. Created by the Council for Community and Economic Research. The Cost of living index portion replaces our print subscription to the ACCRA cost of living index.