LibGuides: A Guide to Resources for Government Studies: Research Methods

Reference sources on research methods

Sage Research Methods
Describes research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences. Includes the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences "Little Green Books" series from SAGE and the "Little Blue Books" on qualitative methods.
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
The Encyclopedia features two major types of entries: definitions, consisting of a paragraph or two, provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays discussing the nature, history, application/example and implication of using a certain method. Also included are suggested readings and references for future study.
Also available in print: Olin Library Reference, H62 .S11 2004 +
The SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics
"This Handbook presents in one volume an authoritative overview of the theoretical, methodological, and substantive elements of comparative political science."

Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology by W. Paul Vogt (Editor)
Call Number: Olin Reference, HA 17.V64x 1999; Later edition in Mann Library, HA17 .V64 2011
Nontechnical definitions of statistical and methodological terms used in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes many cross-references.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement by Kimberly Kempf-Leonard (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Olin Library Reference, H62.E53 .E53 2005 +
Articles include examples and applications of research strategies and techniques, highlighting multidisciplinary options for observing social phenomena. Articles are arranged alphabetically with glossaries, cross-references, and a bibliography for further reading. Descriptions of important data sets and case studies are included. Detailed index.