Databases

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from almost 1,400 U.S. and over 1,400 international news sources. Date coverage varies by title.

Library PressDisplay provides online access for the last 90 days to over 6,000 newspapers from more than 100 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.

An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.

ProQuest Research Library is a multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts about 2,600 titles--general interest magazines, news sources, and scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. About 1,700 are available in full text format.

Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.

Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Basic or advanced subject searching takes you to in-depth articles on contemporary society, including coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.

Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990. Born of the New Left, the Alternative Press Index, was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. With over 474,000 records, the APIA is an invaluable companion to the Alternative Press Index, which is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.

Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, with citations drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Subjects covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation, and socialism.

American Periodicals includes two full text resources: American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries. Both contain digitized images of American special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles, from the 19th century through the dawn of the 20th century. Because the database contains digitized images of periodical pages, researchers can see all of the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.

A cross-searchable collection that includes -- Ser.1, 1690-1876: Newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in subsequent bibliographies. -- Ser. 2, 1758-1900: 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. -- Ser. 3, 1829-1922: 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including the Civil War Era, Reconstruction, the Progressive Era and beyond. -- Ser. 6: More than 160 significant 18th-, 19th-, and 20th-century newspapers, including titles of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city dailies. -- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998: Newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. -- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876: More than 140 newspapers from 22 islands in English; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish. Digitized from the American Antiquarian Society's collections.

Indexes over 10,000 periodicals in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Full-text electronic versions of 673 Chinese national, regional and local newspapers or periodicals that appear at least on a weekly basis. The database includes current issues of journals as well as archives of back issues of journals, and is reproduced with original pagination. Special newspapers relate to legal issues in China, the environment, foreign policy, literary production, economics and finance, education and various areas of science and technology.

This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

Connect to full text via the EBSCOhost Web search interface.

Included in the ProQuest databases, this source contains the searchable full text of over four hundred ethnic and minority journals, magazines and newspapers in the United States from 1960 to date. Several Spanish language sources are available; the database is searchable in English and in Spanish.

Access limited to 10 seats. Please check resource for coverage or contact a librarian for assistance.

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs.

See resource for extent of coverage.

Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. This comprehensive, fully searchable edition of the FBIS Daily Reports covers such topics as political, military and social issues, economics, science and technology for eight world regions from 1941-1996.

GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbrith, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.

Search the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

"The East View Global Press Archive (GPA) is a groundbreaking program to create the most comprehensive collection of digital news sources from around the world. GPA is the result of a landmark initiative of Stanford Libraries and the Hoover Institution Library & Archives to digitally preserve and make more accessible thousands of original print newspaper publications collected by the Hoover Institution and now housed by Stanford Libraries. Encompassing newspapers in more than 30 languages, GPA will ultimately include thousands of titles from across the globe, all presented in full-image and full-text format optimized for scholarly use. Many titles appearing in GPA will be first-ever digital versions of these publications and collectively this activity presents immense new value for scholarly research"--Publisher's description.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.

International interdisciplinary index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, with particular emphasis on the humanities, arts and social sciences. Indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. Multilingual, with English and German interfaces.

Searchable database projected to be a complete full-text collection of the reports issued by the Joint Publications Research Service of the United States Department of Commerce. JPRS (acting as a unit within the Central Intelligence Agency) was established in March 1957 as part of the United States Department of Commerce's Office of Technical Services. JPRS staffers prepared translations for use by U.S. Government officials, various agencies, and the research and industrial communities. This unique collection features English translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world. With an emphasis on communist and developing countries, this digital edition of Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995, contains a wealth of hard-to-find social science, scientific, and technical materials translated from many languages.

A searchable archive of articles from: Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and: Keesing's record of world events, 1987-. Provides a detailed summary of the world's political, social, and economic events.

Full-text of Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.

Contains thousands of searchable full-text newspaper titles from around the world, including many smaller U.S. newspapers, mainly from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

A searchable database of a growing collection of journals in a variety of subject areas. Searching across multiple journals and browsing within journals is possible. Bibliographic information is available for all journal issues. Full-text articles, including original text and image content, are available for issues included in the institution subscription.

index to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Previously known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers home page.

The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable. Coverage: 2008 - recent.

A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers these areas: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.

Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2011. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

Complete archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, compiled from non-United States media sources. The material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. For earlier years, see Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996. Because of copyright restrictions some material which appears in the FBIS Daily Reports is not included in WNC but may be available on the FBIS Publications disk.

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries, one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories. This collection is comprised of: America's Historical Newspapers - searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. African Newspapers - more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers - featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. South Asian Newspapers - searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Latin American Newspapers - more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.